Georgia CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  U.S. Census  go to  Georgia  go to  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Georgia indexes and images

1900-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Georgia 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1840-1890

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Georgia 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
partial 1890 indexes - - Link Link - Link Link Link - -
images - - - Link - Link Link Link - -
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1870 indexes Link - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1860 indexes Link - Link Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1850 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1845 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1840 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1800-1838

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Georgia 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
partial 1838 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1830 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1820 indexes Link - - Link  - Link Link  Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1800 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images - - - - - - - - - -
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 and Soundex 1870             1840
1930 1900 and Soundex 1860 1830
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex 1850 1820


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624 and Soundex T1263 1870 M593         1840 M704
1930 T626 1900 T623 and Soundex T1040 1860 M653 1830 M19
1920 T625 and Soundex M1557 1880 T9 and Soundex T744 1850 M432 1820 M33


Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Georgia, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Georgia

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Census Bureau Google Book Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1880 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1860 Slave owner Link - - Link[8] Link Link Link
1860 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1850 Slave owner Link - - Link[8] Link Link Link
1850 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1840 Pensioners Link BookLink BookLink - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Family History Library Federal Census Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Georgia

  • 1910Abstract of the census, statistics of population, agriculture, manufactures, and mining for the United States, and principal cities with supplement for Georgia containing statistics for the state counties, cities, and other divisions
  • 1850 - 1880 Mortality Schedule FHL Collection Film 42213-18
  • 1850 - 1880 Nonpopulation census schedules of Georgia FHL CollectionFilms beginning with 1602477
  • 1835 Cherokee Nation east, roll of 1835 FHL Collection

National Archives Federal Census Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Georgia

  • 1935 Census of Business
Schedules of Advertising Agencies
Schedules of Banking and Financial Institutions
Schedules of Miscellaneous Enterprises
Schedules of Motor Trucking for Hire
Schedules of Public Warehousing
Schedules of Radio Broadcasting Stations
  • 1880 Manufacturing census
  • 1880 Defective, Dependent and Delinquent Classes
  • 1850 - 1870 Social Statistics
  • 1850 - 1880 Mortality Schedules
  • 1820-1880 Agriculture census

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Georgia, click here.

Census substitutes

In addition to published tax lists, some substitutes for the early missing censuses include:

  • 1805 Wood, Virginia S., and Ralph V. Wood. 1805 Georgia Land Lottery. Cambridge, Massachusetts: The Greenwood Press, 1964. (Family History Library book 975.8 R2wv .)
  • 1790 De Lamar, Marie, and Elizabeth Rothstein. The Reconstructed 1790 Census of Georgia. 1976. Reprint, Baltimore, Maryland: Genealogical Publishing Company, 1985. (Family History Library book 975.8 X2L.)
  • 1733-1747 Coulter, E. Merton, and Albert B. Saye. A List of the Early Settlers of Georgia. Athens, Georgia: University of Georgia Press, 1949. (Family History Library book 975.8 W2L; film 007092.) This is for the period 1733 to 1747. It is updated by the Georgia Genealogical Society Quarterly 19 (1983): 111-131. (Family History Library book 975.8 B2ga.)

State and colonial censuses

Censuses were taken in Georgia in different years than the federal censuses. These censuses may have different data compared to federal censuses. Check these censuses for more information on a family.

State censuses are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History. Some county censuses for the years 1827 to 1890 are also at the Family History Library.

  • 1938 School census. Fayette, Tattnal, and Walton counties only.[9]
  • 1933 School census. Fayette, Tattnal, and Walton counties only.[9]
  • 1928 School census. Fayette, Tattnal, and Walton counties only.[9]
  • 1918 School census. Henry County only.[9]
  • 1913 School census. Henry and Meriwether counties only.[9]
  • 1908 School census. Henry County only.[9]
  • 1903 School census. Henry and Meriwether counties only.[9]
  • 1898 School census. Meriwether County only.[9]
  • 1890 Federal census. Washington County only in the courthouse.[9][10]
  • 1879 State census. Columbia County only.[9][11]
  • 1865 State census. Bulloch County only.[9][12]
  • 1859 State census. Columbia[11][13][14] and Terrell counties only.[9][15]
  • 1853 State census. Morgan County only in the courthouse.[9]
  • 1852 State census. Chatham, Forsyth, Jasper[11], Morgan counties, and City of Augusta only.[9][15][16]
  • 1845 State census. Chatham, Dooly, Forsyth[17], and Warren counties only[9][11][15][18][19][20]
  • 1838 State census. Laurens[11], Lumpkin (partial)[21][22], Newton[11], Paulding, and Tattnall[11] counties only.[9][15][18][19][20]
  • 1837 State Census. Paulding County only.[21]
  • 1834 State census. Cass (Bartow)[23], Cherokee[24], Cobb[25], Forsyth[17][26], Gilmer, Lumpkin[22][27], Murray, and Union counties only.[9][21]
  • 1827 School census. Taliaferro County only.[9][15][19]
  • 1804 State census, partial.[15]
  • 1800 Federal census. Oglethorpe County only in courthouse.[9][15][18][28]
  • 1799 State census, partial.[15]
  • 1798 State census. Greene County (partial) only.[9][29]
  • 1743 Colonial census. Savannah, Vandburgh, Hampstead, Highgate, and ten individual plantations.[30]
  • 1741 Colonial census. Darien only.[31]
  • 1738 Colonial census. Frederica only.[32]

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Georgia censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 5.8 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. 8.0 8.1 HeritageQuest has slave owner schedule images only.
  9. 9.00 9.01 9.02 9.03 9.04 9.05 9.06 9.07 9.08 9.09 9.10 9.11 9.12 9.13 9.14 9.15 9.16 9.17 9.18 9.19 Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 33-35.
  10. Georgia, Court of Ordinary (Washington County), "Census Returns of Washington County Taken by the County, 1890" (Salt Lake City: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1962 [in the Washington County courthouse, Sandersville, Ga.?])[FHL Films 295947-49].
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 11.3 11.4 11.5 11.6 Georgia, Census Board, "State Census Records, 1838-1879" (Salt Lake City: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1957, 1961 at the State Archives in Atlanta, Georgia and in the Columbia County courthouse in Appling, Georgia)[FHL Film 007010 and 234619].
  12. Alvaretta K. Register, "1865 Census of Bulloch County, Georgia," Georgia Genealogical Magazine [FHL Book 975.8 B2go], no. 70 (1978): 247.
  13. Merita Rozier, Leoda Sherry, and Nesba Wright, "State Census Columbia County, Georgia, 1859" Georgia Genealogical Society Quarterly [FHL Book 975.8 B2ga] 13 (1977): 254-73.
  14. MariLee Beatty Hageness, State Census 1859, Heads of Household, Columbia County, Georgia ([Anniston, Ala.: MLH Research], 1995)[FHL Book 975.8635 X2h 1859; Film 2055469 Item 4].
  15. 15.0 15.1 15.2 15.3 15.4 15.5 15.6 15.7 Emily Anne Croom, The Genealogist's Companion and Sourcebook (Cincinnati, Ohio: Betterway Books, 1994)[FHL REF book 929.1 C882g], 39.
  16. Augusta Genealogical Society, Ancestoring 4 (1983) [FHL Book 975.8 D25an].
  17. 17.0 17.1 Donna Parrish, Bonnye T. Leary, and Garland C. Bagley, Census Indexes of Forsyth County, Georgia, 1834-1900 (Cumming, Ga.: D. Parrish, 1981)[FHL Book 975.8265 X2p].
  18. 18.0 18.1 18.2 Ancestry.com, Georgia Census, 1790-1890 at http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=3542 (accessed 30 Janurary 2010).
  19. 19.0 19.1 19.2 R. J. Taylor, Jr. Foundation, Censuses for Georgia Counties: Taliaferro 1827, Lumpkin 1838, Chatham 1845 (Atlanta, Ga.: R.J. Taylor, Jr., Foundation, 1979)[FHL Book 975.8 X2c]. Transcript with index.
  20. 20.0 20.1 Brigid S. Townsend, Indexes to Seven State Census reports for Counties in Georgia, 1838-1845 (Atlanta, Ga.: R.J. Taylor, Jr., Foundation, 1975)[FHL Book 975.8 X2pt]. Abstract and index.
  21. 21.0 21.1 21.2 Mary Bondurant Warren, and Eve B Weeks, Whites Among the Cherokees: Georgia 1828-1838 (Danielsville, Ga.: Heritage Papers, 1987)[FHL Book 970.3 C424wg].
  22. 22.0 22.1 Rebekah S. Wilson, Rebekah S. Wilson Genealogical Collection (Atlanta, Ga.: Diane Dieterle Genealogical Center, 1982)[FHL Film 2373084]. -- Lumpkin census 1834 -- 1838 Lumpkin County census.
  23. MariLee Beatty Hageness, 1834 State Census, Cass/Bartow Counties, Georgia (Anniston, Ala.: MLH Research, 1994)[FHL Book 975.8365 X2h 1834; Fiche 6038926]. Heads of house index only.
  24. MariLee Beatty Hageness, 1834 State Census, Cherokee County, Georgia (Anniston, Ala.: MLH Research, 1995)[FHL Book 975.8253 X2h 1834; Fiche 6038961].
  25. MariLee Beatty Hageness, Heads of Families, 1834 State Census, Cobb County, Georgia (Anniston, Ala.: MLH Research, 1995)[FHL Book 975.8245 X2h; Fiche 6038864].
  26. MariLee Beatty Hageness, Heads of Household 1834 State Census, Forsyth County, Georgia (Anniston, Ala.: MLH Research, 1995)[FHL Book 975.8265 X2h 1834].
  27. Frances T. Ingmire, 1834 State Census of Lumpkin County, Georgia (St. Louis, Mo. : F.T. Ingmire, [198-])[FHL Book 975.8273 X2i 1834].
  28. Mary Bondurant Warren, 1800 Census of Oglethorpe County, Georgia; the Only Extant Census of 1800 within the State of Georgia, Transcribed from the Original and Indexed ([Athens, Ga.: M.B. Warren, 1965])[FHL Book 975.8175 X2p 1800].
  29. Frank Parker Hudson, "1798 Census of First Battalion, Greene County, Georgia," Georgia Genealogical Society Quarterly [FHL Book 975.8 B2ga] 4 (1968): 649-54. Alphabetical transcript of heads of house and number of "whites" and "coloureds" in the household.
  30. Robert S. Davis, Jr., "1743 Census of Georgia and It's Critic" Georgia Genealogical Society Quarterly [FHL Book 975.8 B2ga] 21, no. 1 (Spring 1985): 2-6.
  31. Robert S. Davis, Jr., "A Census of Darien, Ga., 1741" Georgia Genealogical Society Quarterly [FHL Book 975.8 B2ga] 24, no. 4 (Winter 1988): 212-14.
  32. Robert S. Davis, Jr., "1738 Census of Frederica, Georgia" Georgia Genealogical Society Quarterly [FHL Book 975.8 B2ga] 25, no. 3 (Fall 1989): 150-55.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 March 2012, at 06:26.
  • This page has been accessed 38,694 times.