German Research on the Internet - an Overview -complete handoutEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

Germany-01.jpg
DIGITAL IMAGES ON THE INTERNET

In addition to providing digital record finding tools, several archives have started to post selected record groups on the Internet. Even though the availability of digitized parish registers online is still minimal, several websites now offer access to various sets of records, including the following:

  • www.familysearch.org/recordsearch - Indexed Baden parish registers, various records from the city archives of Darmstadt and Ludwigshafen, and Mecklenburg Census records.
  • http://www.matricula.findbuch.net/ - International site dedicated to making digitized church records available online. As of June 2009 available records include 1. Catholic parish registers of the Diocese of St. Pölten, Austria 2. One parish in Passau, Bavaria, Germany 3. Evangelical records of parishes in the Gelnhausen, Hessen-Nassau, Germany area 4. Evangelical records of sixteen parishes in the Rhineland region, Germany Most of these records have not been filmed by the Family History Department.
  • http://www.kirchenbuch-virtuell.de/ - Parish registers of the Bayreuth, Bavaria, Lutheran Archive. The “virtual reading room” allows access to scanned images of over 30 parish registers. The user joins an association and pays yearly dues (30 Euros in 2009) plus modest additional monthly fees for access to specific records.
  • https://www2.landesarchiv-bw.de/ofs21/olf/struktur.php?bestand=5632 – Digitized microfilms of Jewish birth, marriage, and death records from Baden, Wuerttemberg, and Hohenzollern available through the Landesarchiv Baden-Wuerttemberg. This collection complements similar records available through the Family History Library
  • https://www2.landesarchiv-bw.de/ofs21/olf/struktur.php?bestand=10028 - Digitized parish register duplicates 1810-1870. Organized by court district, then by parish.

Genealogical data bases


www.familysearch.org/#form=historical_records-Family Search web site, contains various linked and unlinked name data bases, reference material (i.e. research guides, word lists, letter-writing guides), digital parish registers for Brandenburg and Posen
http://www.ancestry.com - Ancestry’s web site contains submitted name data bases as well as indexes and images of many sources, including vital records, U.S. census records, several important emigration indexes, and passenger lists.
http://www.worldvitalrecords.com/ - available for free at family history centers worldwide
• www.heritagequestonline.com - Heritage Quest’s census indexes and census images as well as other records (as accessible at the Family History Library).
http://www.ancestry.rootsweb.com- contains indexed family trees, surname web sites, and over 30,000 mailing lists

General resource sites


http://www.genealogy.net/genealogy- Although this is a German web site, some sections are also available in English. It includes links to many German research associations’ web sites, regional resources, reference information for both beginners and advanced researchers, gazetteers, links to emigration sources, a translation help program, a listing of German town lineage books (Ortssippenbücher) both in print and available online, form letters, and lots of other helpful information. This site is worth getting to know well!
http://wiki-en.genealogy.net/wiki/Main_Page- the English-language Wiki for German genealogy. For example, enter “emigration” as search term to find a bibliography of printed lists of emigrants
http://www.cyndislist.com/germany.htm- categorized list of links to emigration databases, gazetteers, association web sites, archives; also includes links to several specialized mailing lists.
• There is also a separate category for Germans from Russia.
http://wiki-de.genealogy.net/Kategorie:Linkliste - a link-collection subdivided into several topics, including links to lists of emigrants from various areas.
http://www.ahnen-und-wappen.de/ Links to various resources and German research forums
http://www.daddezio.com/germgen.html- This site contains articles about various aspects of German research and links to many related topics, including heraldry (coats of arms).
http://www.worldroots.com- This site contains links to various data bases of European royal families.
http://www.roots-in-germany.de - Link collection for researchers and tourists; includes links to emigration sources, maps, gazetteers etc., including regional sections.
http://www.germanroots.com/ - Resources for German genealogy on the Internet
http://feefhs.org/indexger.html- FEEFHS German Genealogy Cross-Index; contains links to helpful German research sites.
http://www.ekd.de/kirche/3218_karte.html -portal to all the web sites of the various Lutheran synods in Germany; click the area on the map to get to the web site you need.
http://www.katholische-kirche.de/197.htm- Web portal to Catholic dioceses
http://home.att.net/~Local_Catholic/Catholic-Poland.htm - Local Catholic Church history and genealogy- Poland
http://www.saur-wbi.de/- World Biographical Index (Index to biographical material published about prominent persons from the 16th-20th Centuries on fiches and online; links to the actual entries as well) - as of September 2004 actual entries are available by subscription only.
http://mdz2.bib-bvb.de/%7Endb/index.html - Digital index to two major collections of biographical material, the Allgemeiner Biographischer Index, and the Neuer Biographischer Index. The actual encyclopedic articles are also available online, but only with a paid subscription.
http://www.retrobibliothek.de/retrobib/index.html - includes Meyers Konversationslexikon, 4th ed. 1888 -1889, and other general reference works, fully searchable online
http://www.berufsgenealogie.net/- Association of German-speaking Professional Genealogists
http://www.trauer.de Death record website with Death notices from newspapers in Germany.
http://www.familienanzeigen.org Database of many death notices from German newspapers including older notices.

Archives


http://www.archivschule.de/content/59.html - Listing of German Archives in the Internet
http://www.h-net.org/~german/research/archives.html - links to German archives, more detailed on the federal level
http://www.hinterpommern.de/Wegweiser/node64.html- Bundesarchiv Berlin, description and contact information. This archive now holds the records of the former Berlin Document Center.
http://www.ekd.de/archive/deutsch/regionen.htm- portal to the archives of the various Lutheran dioceses.

Gazetteers for the entire German Empire

Digital version of Meyer's Gazetteer of the German Empire, published 1912, found on www.familysearch.org in two volumes

Gazetteer for the German Empire of 1900
http://www.gemeindeverzeichnis.de/gem1900/gem1900.htm?gem1900_2.htm - gazetteer of Gemeinden
To use, click on the state, choose the region, then the county. A list of Gemeinden will come up. A Gemeinde is a civil entity comparable to a U.S. township and may include one or more parishes.

Regional gazetteers and parish register inventories

The German DigiBib [Digital Library] continually adds new gazetteers and maps to its collection, so it’s worth checking there first. Access it through www.genealogy.net/genealogy by clicking on the tab “DigiBib”, or directly through http://wiki-de.genealogy.net/Portal:DigiBib . Choose “Pfarr- und Kirchenbuchverzeichnisse” for parish listings and parish register inventories, or „Ortslexika, Topografien, Statistiken etc.” for gazetteers and geographical descriptions.

Alsace
http://pagesperso-orange.fr/michel.barbier/AlsaLor-DHaHen.html list of German place names during the German occupation 1870-1918 in Alsace-Lorraine, with French name, department, Kreis, Kanton
Bavaria
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/bavaria/index.html
Berlin
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/berlin/berlin.htm - street index with church- and civil jurisdictions
Hamburg
http://www.genealogienetz.de/reg/HAM/#gaz – listing of sections/suburbs with civil registration office addresses

Hessen-Darmstadt
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/hesse/hessendindex.htm
http://wiki-de.genealogy.net/Wohnpl%C3%A4tze_im_Grossherzogthum_Hessen_1863 – 1863 gazetteer in DigiBib
http://www.landeshauptarchiv.de/aktuell/kalender/archiv/Kirchenbuchverzeichnis_Stand_Februar_2006.pdf - parish register inventory for the area covered by the Speyer Church Archive [Pfalz and parts of Rheinhessen]

Hessen-Nassau
http://wiki-de.genealogy.net/wiki/Hessische_Kirchenb%C3%BCcher lists parish registers filmed at the Kassel Church Book Archive
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/hesse/hessnas.htm - abbreviated gazetteer for Hessen-Nassau
Hohenzollern
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/baden-wurttemberg/hohenzollern/index.html
Leipzig
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/saxony/leipzig/index.htm -street guide with parish and civil jurisdictions
Lippe-Detmold
http://www.genealogienetz.de/reg/NRHE-WFA/lippe_orte-d.html , give parish jurisdictions for even the smallest villages
Mecklenburg
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/mecklenburg/meckgaz.htm
Oldenburg
https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Oldenburg_%E2%80%93_Herzogtum_(duchy)Gazetteers - list of place names, descriptions, parish jurisdictions and record repositories.
http://www.genealogienetz.de/vereine/OGF/index.html - list of parishes, with beginning date for records and expert to contact for help, where available
Ostpreussen
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/prussia/index.html
Posen
http://donhoward.net/genpoland/posguide.htm guide to genealogical records for Posen
Rheinland
http://www.genealogienetz.de/vereine/wgff/trier/index.html - under „ABC listen“ are indexes to parish registers from the Trier region, and an index of emigrants
http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~pick/ - Eifel region birth and marriage data, contains over 535,000 names
http://www2.genealogy.net/vereine/ArGeWe/englisch/index-e.htm - Westerwald research site
Sachsen-Anhalt
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/saxony-anhalt/index.htm contains lists of parishes for Halle an der Saale and Magdeburg, with some addresses
Sachsen
http://www.genealogienetz.de/reg/SAC/Kirchen/ort-C.html
http://wiki-de.genealogy.net/Die_Kirchenb%C3%BCcher_im_K%C3%B6nigreich_Sachsen_%281901%29 – Franz Blanckmeister, Die Kirchenbuecher im Koenigreich Sachsen, 1901 [digital copy]
http://www.genealogienetz.de/reg/SAC/Kirchen/index.html Alphabetical listing of localities and parish addresses in Saxony
Schaumburg-Lippe
http://www.genealogienetz.de/reg/NSAC/SLP/gaz.html
Schlesien
http://www.genealogienetz.de/reg/SCI/kirchenbuecher/base/index.html data base inventory of Lutheran parish registers of Schlesien [ click on "Ortschaftsverzeichnis"]
Schleswig-Holstein

https://wiki.familysearch.org/en/Schleswig-Holstein:_Place_Names  List of places in former Prussian province keyed to the parish.
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/schleswig/index.html
http://www.genealogienetz.de/reg/SCN/kirchenkreise-d.html list of church districts with archive addresses etc.
Waldeck

 http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/hesse/waldeck.htm
Westpreussen
www.westpreussen.de – For a list of towns including their Catholic, Lutheran and civil registry jurisdictions, click on “Ortsverzeichnis” in the bottom left bar under the heading “Forschungshilfen”. This brings up a dialogue box in which to enter the place name. In German
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/prussia/index.html gazetteer in English]
Wuerttemberg
http://www.archiv.elk-wue.de/dok_start.fau?prj=KB-DB&dm=Gemeinde - data base of Evangelical parishes

General geography


http://gov.genealogy.net/ -German genealogical gazetteer, a growing reference work
http://wiki.genealogy.net/wiki/Ortssuche_FAQ - This site includes links to many online gazetteers and maps and a bibliography of printed sources. It also gives hints on how to structure an effective search- in German only.
http://www.atsnotes.com/other/gerpol.html - An index of German-Polish and Polish-German localities
http://alexandria.sdc.ucsb.edu/gazetteer//dgie/DGIE_website/gaz-links.htm - links to online gazetteers for various countries
http://www.library.wisc.edu/etext/ravenstein/home.html - Ravenstein Atlas of the German Empire
• www.multimap.com - maps for anywhere in the world
• www.expedia.com - another very good map site
http://www.ieg-maps.uni-mainz.de/ Historical maps of Germany available online, hosted by the Institute for European History in Mainz


Handwriting, Vocabulary


http://script.byu.edu/ - Interactive tutorial for learning the old German Gothic, Dutch, Italian, and Spanish scripts.
http://www.donicht.de/occupations.htm Old German professions, occupations, illnesses, and notions
http://dict.leo.org/ - English/German, German/English dictionary online
http://wiki-en.genealogy.net/Transserv - instructions for using a free volunteer translation service for genealogical material.
http://www.germanychurchrecords.com/dates.html - links to various genealogical reading helps [dates, months, illnesses, occupations]
http://www.jewishgen.org/InfoFiles/GermanOccs.htm - JewishGen Infofile: translations of about 1500 German occupations

Regional Resources

Alsace
http://alsacegenweb.online.fr/homepage.htm - Alsace GenWeb
http://www.prenom.com/bas-rhin-67/villes-bas-rhin-cartes-cassini-ville-village.html - 1750 historical maps by Cassini, also available on several other websites, but seems more navigable here. See also http://www.cartocassini.org/planville/plan.php
Baden
http://www.websters.net/blackforest/index.html - for those researching in the Black Forest area; can post queries.
http://www.ub.uni-heidelberg.de/helios/fachinfo/www/gesch/tipfam2.htm - link collection for family history in Baden Wuerttemberg, Pfalz
Bavaria
http://www.gf-franken.de/ - web page of the Franken Genealogical Society
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/Articles/bavgen.htm - short descriptive article listing sources and archives for research in Bavaria
http://www.lkan-elkb.de/Download/Kirchenmatrikeln_nach_Orten.pdf – listing of Lutheran parish registers available in the Church Book Archive in Nuernberg
http://www.kirchenbuch-virtuell.de – Lutheran church archive Bayreuth: digital reading room- over 26 parishes [scanned images] searchable online [fee]
Berlin
http://www.alt-berlin.info/ - street maps
http://adressbuch.zlb.de/ - Berlin address book from 1799-1943 available with images.
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/berlin/berlin.htm - street index with church- and civil jurisdictions
http://www.blocksignal.de/krt/b07/f.cgi - map of Berlin and suburbs 1907
Brandenburg
http://grueneberg-lenzen.de/deutsch/Kirchbuch/start.html - links to some „virtual parish registers“ and indexes for Brandenburg and Mecklenburg
Bremen
http://www.genealogienetz.de/vereine/maus/datenbanken/index.php?lang=de – links to various data bases, including town genealogies for the Bremen area, funeral registration books, tax records, emigration sources
Hamburg
http://www.genealogienetz.de/reg/HAM/ - resources for research, links to gazetteers etc.
http://www.genealogus.de/infoskontakt/ - research in and around Hamburg, explains various sources and their location, gives archive addresses etc.
Hannover
http://aidaonline.niedersachsen.de/ - Online record inventory for the state archives in Niedersachsen, includes indexes of emigrants
http://www.osfa.de/ -family history sources in the Osnabrueck area, includes lists of parishes, farming estates [Hoefe], and a parish register inventory
Hessen-Darmstadt and Hessen-Nassau
http://wiki-de.genealogy.net/wiki/Hessische_Kirchenb%C3%BCcher lists parish registers filmed at the Kassel Church Book Archive
http://www.archive.hessen.de/ - Archives in Hessen; a web portal
http://www.hadis.hessen.de/ - online indexes to Hessen archival resources. Enter surname or search term in the field “Schnellsuche” and click on the magnifying glass. For lists of emigrants look for the category “Auswanderernachweise”
Hohenzollern
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/
Lippe-Detmold
http://www.nhv-ahnenforschung.de/ - genealogical and local history material for Lippe
Mecklenburg
http://portal.hsb.hs-wismar.de/pub/lbmv/mjb/jb079/348686668.html - historical development of the principality of Ratzeburg [book online, in German]
Niedersachsen
http://www.staatsarchive.niedersachsen.de/home - state archives in Niedersachsen, includes inventories of the various state archives.
Oldenburg
http://www.genealogienetz.de/vereine/OGF/index.html - list of parishes, with beginning date for records and expert to contact for help, where available, also includes an emigrant database
Ostfriesland [belongs to Hannover]
http://www.rootsweb.com/~mnogsm/records.htm - list of Ostfriesland parishes, when the parishes begin, and whether an OSB has been published
http://www.genealogie-forum.de/ostfrld/kirchen/suchen/doerfer.htm - listing of villages and churches in Ostfriesland, annotated with references to genealogical and historical sources
Ostpreussen
http://www.progenealogists.com/germany/prussia/index.html gazetteer for East/West Prussia
http://pirmojiknyga.mch.mii.lt/Leidiniai/Prusviet.en.htm - place names of Lithuania
Minor (Memelland)
http://userpage.fu-berlin.de/~lauze/m_famforsch.htm - family history sources for the Memelland area
http://www.plew.info/verteiler_regionen.htm - genealogy resources for Sambia, the area around Koenigsberg
http://www.historische-masurische-vereinigung.de/ - genealogy sources in Southeran East Prussia [Masurenland]
http://freenet-homepage.de/helmut.ramm/kirchsp_bartenstein.htm - Lutheran parishes in Kreis Bartenstein
http://www.salzburger.homepage.t-online.de/krch-bch.htm - list of extant parish registers in Kreis Gumbinnen
Pfalz [Palatinate]
http://www.ub.uni-heidelberg.de/helios/fachinfo/www/gesch/tipfam2.htm - link collection for family history in Baden Wuerttemberg, Pfalz
http://www.krebs-onl.de/pfalz/1789.htm - historical maps and reference material for the Pfalz
http://www.landeshauptarchiv.de/aktuell/kalender/archiv/Kirchenbuchverzeichnis_Stand_Februar_2006.pdf - parish register inventory for the area covered by the Speyer Church Archive [Pfalz and parts of Rheinhessen]
http://www.genealogie-in-pirmasens.de/ - genealogy in the Pirmasens area
Posen
http://donhoward.net/genpoland/posguide.htm - Inventory of vital records for the province of Posen. The lists of existing records are organized according to the 1887 district division of the Poznan Province and the Eastern Greater Poland.
Rheinland
http://www.genealogienetz.de/vereine/wgff/aachen/html/download.html - databases, various lists to download for various parts of the Rhineland
http://www.genealogienetz.de/vereine/wgff/trier/index.html - links to online town genealogies for the Trier region
http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~pick/ - indexes to parish registers in the Eifel area, by towns/parishes [about 535,000 names- slow to come up]
http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~eifel/pick/pickindex.html - master index to Tom Pick’s collection listed above
Saarland
http://www.saar-genealogie.de/literaturverzeichnis/index.php - inventory of genealogical literature for towns in the Saar region.
Sachsen
http://www.saxonyroots.com/ - web site for family history in Saxony, German-based. More sections are available in German than in English
Schaumburg-Lippe
http://www.blume-gen.de/ - family history in the former duchy of Schaumburg-Lippe [sources, parish register transcripts etc., in German]
Schlesien
http://www.militsch.de/ - genealogical sources and data bases for Kreis Militsch, Silesia
Schleswig-Holstein
http://www.genealogienetz.de/reg/SCN/kirchenkreise-d.html list of church districts with archive addresses etc.
http://www.fehmarn-genealogy.com/default.htm - The Fehmarn Genealogy Site
Thueringen
http://www.genealogienetz.de/reg/THU/thu-arch.html - Archives in Thueringen; address listings include e-mail address, where available
Waldeck
http://home.planet.nl/~Kees.Leseman/waldgene.html - list of family histiory resources [in Dutch]
Wittgenstein
http://www.genealogienetz.de/reg/NRHE-WFA/Wittgenstein/ -work group for genealogy, include lists of emigrants
Westpreussen
• www.westpreussen.de – Genealogical resources for West Prussia, in German; includes gazetteer, maps, record information, lists of civil registration offices, archives, and other research helps.
Wuerttemberg
http://www.archiv.elk-wue.de/dok_start.fau?prj=KB-DB&dm=Gemeinde
Data base of Evangelical parishes
http://www.ub.uni-heidelberg.de/helios/fachinfo/www/gesch/tipfam2.htm - link collection for family history in Baden Wuerttemberg, Pfalz
http://www.websters.net/blackforest/index.html - for those researching in the Black Forest area; can post queries.

Formerly German areas:

• www.kartenmeister.com – maps and gazetteers for areas East of the Oder-Neisse line, include place name changes, whenever known
http://home.att.net/~Local_Catholic/Catholic-Poland.htm Local Catholic Church history and genealogy- Poland
http://www.sggee.org/church_parishes/LutheransInRusPoland - Lutheran parishes in Russian Poland
http://pirmojiknyga.mch.mii.lt/Leidiniai/Prusviet.en.htm - place names in Lithuania Minor
http://www.kartenmeister.com/preview/databaseuwe.asp -tools for genealogy east of the Oder-Neisse border

Search Vocabulary

address books - Adressbuecher
archive - Archiv [Kirchen{buch}archiv, Landesarchiv, Staatsarchiv, Stadtarchiv, Komunalarchiv, Kreisarchiv]
calendar of events - Veranstaltungskalender
church(es) - Kirche[(n)
civil registration office - Standesamt
community [civil] - Gemeinde , Ortsgemeinde
community consisting of several towns [civil] - Verbandsgemeinde [VG]
Computer Genealogy (on-line journal) - Computergenealogie
culture - Kultur
data base - Datenbank]
economy - Wirtschaft
emigrants - Auswanderer
emigration - Auswanderung
emigration research - Auswandererforschung
general - allgemein
illnesses( old terms) - alte Krankheitsbezeichnungen
index, listing - Verzeichnis
Latin - lateinisch
list - Liste
map[s]- Karte[n]
mayor's office - Buergermeisteramt
measures - Masse
occupations - Berufe
old - alt
parish office - Kirchenbuero, Pfarrbuero
parish [church] - Kirchengemeinde
passenger lists - Schiffslisten
pastor - Pfarrer
pictures [old] - alte Bilder
place names - Ortsnamen
postal code[s] - Postleitzahl[en]
printed - gedruckt
public - oeffentlich
public institutions - oeffentliche Einrichtungen
research - Forschung
research associations, clubs - Vereine
search screen - Suchmaske
search term - Suchwort
sources - Quellen
town genealogy - Ortssippenbuch, Ortsfamilienbuch, OFB, OSB

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 September 2014, at 01:00.
  • This page has been accessed 19,812 times.