Ghana GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Ghana Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Getting started with Ghana research
Ghana with its current borders has only existed for approximately hundred years. Earlier on several kingdoms inhibited the area, each with their own history, which are only briefly mentioned on this page. Similar to most of Africa, the history of pre-colonial Ghana is not known in complete details. This is due to years of neglect from colonisers and western historians, but also has to do with the nature of traditional African storytelling, which is oral (not written). Read more…
- All records collections for Ghana available on FamilySearch.org.
FamilySearch Historical Records Collections for Ghana:
Did you know?
Although many European powers occupied portions of what is now Ghana, systematic record keeping, which included sizeable portions of the native population, did not begin until after Great Britain made Ghana (then called the Gold Coast) a colony in 1872.
- ↑ The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Ghana,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1991-1998.
- This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 01:33.
- This page has been accessed 12,567 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News