Guam GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States Guam
Guide to Guam ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Located approximately 3,300 miles West of Hawaii, 1,500 miles East of the Philippines, and 1,550 miles South of Japan, the Island of Guam is the Western most territory of the United States. Guam is truly a tropical island paradise. Approximately 30 miles long and 4 to 9 miles wide, the Northern end of Guam is a plateau of rolling hills and cliffs rising to 600 feet above sea level. Waterfalls, rivers and bays abound throughout Guam's central and southern areas.
Getting started with Guam research
Guam is a territory of the United States. The capital city is Hagatna (formerly Agana).
- Chamorro Roots, website and database of Chamorro researcher Bernard Punzalan.
- Guam Land Records1898-1964
- Guam Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Micronesian Area Research Center at University of Guam
- Rootsweb Guam Mailing List
- Pacific Island Guide to Family History Research
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
(Your text or images here)
Did you know?
- The first census in Guam was taken in 1710 when it was still a possession of Spain. The government of Spain took 20 additional censuses from 1710 through 1897. The 1897 census index, The Patron de Almas: Año de 1897, is online on the Micronesian Area Research Center (MARC) website.
- Other helpful resources include:
- This page was last modified on 20 April 2015, at 15:37.
- This page has been accessed 11,560 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More