Help:Reverting Content to Previous VersionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

When you revert an article to a previous version, you are eliminating the edits of one or more contributors. It's a good idea to give your reasons on the Talk Page and explain what you are going to do. You might also contact those contributors and discuss it with them directly. Then, let some time go by, giving others a chance to reply to your ideas. In the long run it is better to negotiate permission before hand, thus smoothing over possible hurt feelings and preventing a "revert war".

Also, consider the Three-revert rule [1] if doing extensive editing.

When you are ready to revert, do the following:

  • Step 1 Navigate to the article that you wish to revert.
  • Step 2 Go to its History page and find the latest preferred version and click on (edit). The article will be rolled back to that date and should now open in the Edit Window.
  • Step 3 At the bottom of the page under the Edit Window, fill in the Summary. Then Click on the Save page button.

The current version of the article will now have been reverted to the previous version that you chose.

  1. Do not revert any page or any part of a page more than 3 times in 24 hours. Doing so may lead to action being taken against your account by an administrator.
  • This page was last modified on 14 August 2015, at 22:16.
  • This page has been accessed 2,672 times.