IcelandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngIceland

Guide to Iceland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Beginners Corner
Get Help Reading Records
Family Search Forums smaller.gif
News and Events
  • Hot off the Press!
Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)



Iceland Glaumbaer.jpg

Welcome to the Iceland Page! FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Iceland page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Icelandic records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. Please visit the help page to learn more about using the site. The Iceland Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!

Getting started with Iceland research

See the tutorials at FamilySearch Learning Center on Scandinavian Research and on Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records.

Jurisdictions

(Your text or images here)

Research Tools

Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:

Strategies

Introduction to Icelandic Search Strategies

Featured Content

Thanks to Hálfdan Helgason, 1816 Iceland census has searchable PDF files with headers in English.

Also see the Iceland GenWeb at Íslenski Ættfræðivefurinn.

Useful Websites

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


Related Pages

Norway

Flag of Norway.png

Sweden

Flag of Sweden2.png

Denmark

Flag of Denmark.png

Finland

Flag of Finland (bordered).jpg

Scandinavia

Scandinavian Flags.jpg



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 14:47.
  • This page has been accessed 10,849 times.