Idaho CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  U.S. Census  Gotoarrow.png  Idaho  Gotoarrow.png  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Idaho indexes and images

1900-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Idaho 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1856-1890

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Idaho 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1890[8] indexes - - Book
Link
- - - - - - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1870[9] indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1860[9] indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Link - UT Link WA Link UT Link WA Link UT Link WA Link UT Link WA Link UT Link WA Link - Link
partial 1856 UT[10] Territorial indexes - - - - - UT
Link
UT
Link
UT
Link
- -
images - - - - - - - - - -
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910
1930 1900 and Soundex
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex
1870


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624 
1930 T626 1900 T623 and Soundex T1042
1920 T625 and Soundex M1558 1880 T9 and Soundex T745
1870 M653


Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Idaho, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Idaho

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Idaho State Archives Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1880 Agricultural, Industrial, Mortality, and Other BookLink - - - -
1880 Mortality - - Link Link Link
1870 Agricultural, Industrial, Mortality, and Other BookLink - - - -
1870 Mortality - - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Microfilm Available from the Family History Library
Northern Idaho Indian census,  1938-1939 Colville Indian census, 1885-1939
Coeur d'Alene Agency, census, 1919-1933 Fort Hall Indian census, 1885-1939
Coeur d'Alene Indian census,1906,1910-1937 Lemhi Agency Indian census, 1885-1906
Fort Lapwai Indian census, 1902-1933 Nisqually and Skokomish census, 1885-1887
Nez Perce' Indian census, 1890-1901



Microfilm available from the National Archives
1935 Census of Business

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Idaho, click here.

State, territorial, and colonial censuses

State or Territory Censuses of Idaho
1856 Malad County (part of the 1856 Utah Territory census)[10]

The area that is now Idaho was for some years included in the federal censuses under the name of other territories:

  • 1870 and later in Idaho Territory or State[9]
  • 1860 Washington Territory (for Idaho residents, if any, see the Spokane County, Washington census)[9]
  • 1850 Oregon Territory (no known white residents in what is now Idaho)[11]

Also, in 1860 and 1870 a few households on thin slices of far southern Idaho were included in the federal censuses of Cache County, and possibly Box Elder County, Utah.[9]

Also, the 1856 territorial census of Utah included residents in "Malad County" and the northern part of Cache County who lived on the south edge of Idaho.[10]

Idaho itself did not take any state or territorial censuses of its residents.

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Idaho censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Archives (formerly the Idaho State Historical Society Public Archives and Research Library) is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census.
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987)[FHL Book 973 X2th], 93 explains that in 1860 residents of what is now northern Idaho, if any, should have been enumerated as part of Spokane County, Washington. Also, a few people living in what is now far southeast Idaho were probably enumerated as part of Cache County (and possibly Box Elder County) in the Utah Territory federal censuses of 1860 and 1870.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 The 1856 territorial census of Utah included the former "Malad County" whose boundaries are now partly in Idaho, and the former "Green River County" now part of Wyoming. Caution: this census was padded. Most listings are correct, but some were repeated, and in a few cases deceased people were listed. See Bryan Lee Dilts, 1856 Utah Census Index: An Every-Name Index (Salt Lake City, UT : Index Pub., 1983)[FHL Book 979.2 X22d 1856; Fiche 6331392], xvi-xvii. No circulation to Family History Centers.
  11. Thorndale and Dollarhide, 281.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2012, at 22:23.
  • This page has been accessed 13,485 times.