Indonesia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Indonesia)

Asia go to Indonesia

Guide to Indonesia, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Welcome to the INDONESIA Page

Borobudur temple.jpg
Topics


Flag of Indonesia
Indonesia Emblem
Location of Indonesia

Geography

Indonesia lies between latitudes 11°S and 6°N, and longitudes 95°E and 141°E. It consists of 17,508 islands, about 6,000 of which are inhabited. These are scattered over both sides of the equator. The largest are Java, Sumatra, Borneo (shared with Brunei and Malaysia), New Guinea (shared with Papua New Guinea), and Sulawesi. Indonesia shares land borders with Malaysia on Borneo, Papua New Guinea on the island of New Guinea, and East Timor on the island of Timor. Indonesia shares maritime borders across narrow straits with Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Palau to the north, and with Australia to the south.

History

The modern Republic of Indonesia became independent in 1949 after over four centuries of colonial rule. In the 16th century Portuguese traders settled on some of the islands that were to become Indonesia. They were largely ejected by the British, who in turn were ousted by the Dutch in 1595. The country was ruled by the Dutch East India Company until 1798 when the company was dissolved. It was known as the Dutch (or Netherlands) East Indies. The Netherlands governed until 1941 when the Japanese occupied the islands. In 1945 Indonesia declared its independence, which was not recognized by the Netherlands until 1949. Irian Jaya (Western New Guinea) however, remained under Dutch control until 1963.

Religion

While religious freedom is stipulated in the Indonesian constitution,[159] the government officially recognizes only six religions: Islam, Protestantism, Roman Catholicism, Hinduism, Buddhism, and Confucianism.

Map of Indonesia.png

Research Tools

Indonesiarecords.jpg

Indonesia does not yet have a fully functioning central civil registry. The following link provides an article describing the difficulties and potential solutions:

UN article on Indonesian records

Ancestry.com

My Heritage

Geneanet

For Graves and Cemeteries in Indonesia:

wikipedia, cemeteries

Toraja graves

The following are some wiki references:


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 August 2015, at 23:48.
  • This page has been accessed 451,740 times.