Indonesia CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Typically a census is a count and description of the population. Where available, census records can provide an ancestor’s name, age, occupation, marital status prior to the marriage, birthplace, and family member relationships. Census returns can also provide clues that lead to other records. A census may list selected people or the whole population. The percentage of people listed depends on the purpose of the census and on how careful the enumerator was.
In the first four Indonesia’s population censuses (1961, 1971, 1980, and 1990) a short form of questionnaire covered basic information such as age, sex, relation to the head of household was used to enumerate households all over the country. On the other hand, the long form of questionnaire covered more detailed information such as age, sex, place of birth, occupation, religion, educational attainment, migration status, fertility and mortality related question was applied to collect data from a number of selected households. Therefore, the census results were published in two kind of publications. The first one was based on complete enumeration and the second one was based on the sample survey.
Further information is provided in Population of Indonesia: Results of the 1995 Intercensal Population Survey (FHL book 959.8 X2p).
Existing censuses have been published or microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library. Look in the Locality Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
INDONESIA - CENSUS
- This page was last modified on 3 June 2015, at 17:46.
- This page has been accessed 2,773 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News