Lebanon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Middle East Lebanon
Guide to Lebanon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
The country of Lebanon is located in Western Asia. Lebanon is between the Mediterranean Sea and Syria. While Syria also borders Lebanon on the north, Israel borders on the south. The primary language is Arabic, with many also speaking French. Other common languages include Aremenian, Greek, Hebrew, and English.
Getting started with Lebanon research
There is a movement among Lebanese people in a variety of communities to organize historical records and collaborate on genealogy work.
This excellent article in Genealogy Today is a good starting introduction: Lebanese Research
Lebanon is divided into six governorates and further subdivided into twenty-five districts. The districts themselves are also divided into several municipalities, each enclosing a group of cities or villages:
Beirut Governorate (city of Beirut only)
Nabatieh Governorate (Jabal Amel)
- Bint Jbeil
- Western Beqaa (al-Beqaa al-Gharbi)
North Governorate (al-Shamal)
Mount Lebanon Governorate (Jabal Lubnan)
- Byblos (Jbeil)
South Governorate (al-Janoub)
- Sidon (Saida)
- Tyre (Sur)
Two new governorates have been approved but not yet implemented: Akkar (from Akkar District) and Baalbek-Hermel (from Baalbek District and Hermel District).
To find towns and cities, use Lebanese Gazeteer
The following websites and organizations are helpful in Lebanon research:
- Lebanon Genealogy Forum
- Lebanese Research
- Lebanese Newspapers
- Lebanese Gazeteer
- Lebanese Genealogy Facebook Page
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
- This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 03:42.
- This page has been accessed 13,878 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News