LeicestershireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Leicestershire ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Leicestershire.
When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Leicestershire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes. The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place. Click hereto see a list of the civil districts in Leicestershire and the parishes covered by each. Read more about England Civil Registration.
See a list of the parishes of Leicestershire with links to articles.
Before 1858, every town and parish in Leicestershire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts. To read more about probate records and see a list of Leicestershire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Leicestershire Probate Records.
- Leicestershire Resources and help pages on RootsChat Leicestershire Resources and help pages. (Free).
To view a further list of web sites and/or web pages for Leicestershire and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Leicestershire
- This page was last modified on 9 November 2014, at 15:38.
- This page has been accessed 6,640 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More