Liechtenstein GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Liechtenstein ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Getting started with Liechtenstein research
Liechtenstein was part of the old German Empire established in the 10th century. In 1719 the counties of Vaduz and Schellenberg became a principality in the hands of a branch of the House of Liechtenstein. It became independent after the dissolution of the Empire in 1806. It joined the Germanic confederation for a time and was part of the Austrian customs union prior to World War I. It has since joined the Swiss customs union and uses Swiss currency and diplomatic resources.
Liechtenstein was largely untouched by the Reformation. Important records were kept by Catholic Church officials concerning land, tax, court and other civil affairs. Church records date from 1560.
The area of Liechtenstein is 61.8 square miles, situated between Switzerland and Austria. The capital is Vaduz ( pop. 5,000). There are 11 communes:
- LiechtensteinGenWeb Project
- Directory of Royal Genealogical Data
- Liechtensteiner Namenbuch - includes links to the six-volume place-name book for
Liechtenstein. The books explain village- and farm names and give some historical background
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
- This page was last modified on 14 September 2015, at 18:58.
- This page has been accessed 6,398 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News