MalaysiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Asia Gotoarrow.png Malaysia

Guide to Malaysia ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Coat of arms of Malaysia
Flag of Malaysia
World Projection of Malaysia
Welcome to the Malaysia Page



The independent state of Malaysia came into existence on Sept. 16, 1963, as a federation of Malaya, Singapore, Sabah (North Borneo), and Sarawak. In 1965, Singapore withdrew from the federation to become a separate nation. Since 1966, the 11 states of former Malaya have been known as West Malaysia, and Sabah and Sarawak as East Malaysia. The ancestors of the people that now inhabit the Malaysian peninsula first migrated to the area between 2500 and 1500 BC.


The country is multi-ethnic and multi-cultural, which plays a large role in politics. The constitution declares Islam the state religion while protecting freedom of religion. The government system is closely modelled on the Westminster parliamentary system and the legal system is based on common law. The head of state is the king, known as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong. He is an elected monarch chosen from the hereditary rulers of the nine mainland Malay states every five years. The head of government is the Prime Minister.



Malaysia practices what is called the "Bumiputra" program, which requires native Malays to be part of the management of all listed companies in the country. This has caused much concern with the minority residents, and has resulted in a major reduction in Chinese resident over the past 30 years.


The last census, taken in 2010, had the following population ratios; Malay 60%, Chinese 23%, Indian 7%, European less than 0.5%, and the balance undocumented illegal workers.

Contents

Jurisdictions

Research Tools



In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


Featured Content

(Coming Soon)

Did you know?

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 December 2014, at 01:16.
  • This page has been accessed 5,549 times.