Michigan CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  U.S. Census  go to  Michigan  go to  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Michigan indexes and images

1870-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Michigan 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1894 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
partial 1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1820-1860

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Michigan 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1860 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1850 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1845 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1840 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1837[8] County  indexes - - - - - Link  Link  Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1834[9] Territory indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1830[10] Territory indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link Tran-
script
Link - Link Link Link - Link
1827 Territory  indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1820 Territory indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link Tran-
script
Link - Link Link Link - Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay



1884 - 1894 State Census Images (http://seekingmichigan.org/discover)

Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A    1910 and Soundex 1870            1840  
1930  1900 and Soundex 1860    1830  
1920 and Soundex            1880 and Soundex 1850 1820  
 
  1810  


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624  Soundex T1268 1870 M593         1840 M704
1930 T626 1900 T623   Soundex T1052 1860 M653 1830 M19
1920 T625  Soundex M1568 1880 T9  Soundex T755 1850 M432 1820 M33
     
 

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Michigan, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Michigan

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Census Bureau Google Book Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1890 Veterans Link - - - Link Link Link
1880 Defective - - - - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1860 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1850 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1840 Pensioners Link BookLink BookLink - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

World War 1 Veterans 1890 Civil War Veterans 1880 Mortality
1870 Mortality 1860 Mortality 1850 Mortality
1840 Pensioners 1820 Manufacturers

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Michigan, click here.

State, territorial, and colonial censuses

Michigan took censuses in different years than the federal censuses. These censuses may have different data compared to federal censuses. Check these censuses for more information on a family.

  • 1843-1969 Statewide annual county census of school age children.[11]
  • 1935 State special unemployment census[12]
  • 1934 State special old age pension act taxable citizens census,[13] coverage incomplete
  • 1848-1924 Statewide annual county census of deaf, dumb, blind, and insane.[14]
  • 1904 Lost[15][16]
  • 1894 State census[15][17] Includes population, mortality, agricultural, industrial, social statistics, or veterans schedules in Allegan, Barry, Bay, Benzie, Dickinson,[18] Emmet, Gratiot, Hillsdale,[19] Ingham, Iosco, Isabella, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Kent,[20] Keweenaw, Lapeer, Lenawee, Livingston, Menominee, Midland, Montcalm,[21] Muskegon, Newaygo,[22] Ottawa, St. Clair, St. Joseph, and Washtenaw[23] counties. For details see Barnett. Link to images of state census 1884 - 1894 http://seekingmichigan.org/discover
  • 1888 Civil War veterans only[15][24]
  • 1862-1886 Military levy annual statewide county censuses mostly lost; a few rarely at county clerks' offices.[25]
  • 1884 State census[15][26] Includes population, mortality, agricultural, industrial, or social statistics schedules in Barry, Bay, Benzie, Emmet, Hillsdale, Ingham, Isabella, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Kent,[27] Keweenaw, Lake, Lapeer, Leelanau, Lenawee, Menominee, Montcalm,[21] Muskegon, Newaygo,[28] Ottawa, Roscommon, St. Clair, St. Joseph, Van Buren (Paw Paw Twp.), Washtenaw, Wayne,[29] and Wexford counties. For details see Barnett.
  • 1874 State census[15][30] Only males over 21 years by name, and females in age cagegories in population schedules for Eaton and Houton counties only. Eaton also includes agricultural and industrial schedules. For details see Barnett.
  • 1864 State census[15][31] Only males over 21 years by name, and females in age cagegories in population, agricultural and industrial schedules in Clinton, Eaton, (Houghton population only), and Newaygo counties. For details see Barnett.
  • 1854 State census[15][32] Only males over 21 years by name, and females in age cagegories in population, agricultural, and industrial schedules for Eaton County. For details see Barnett.
  • 1845 State census.[15][33] Only males over 21 years by name, and females in age cagegories in Eaton, Lenawee,[34] Oakland,[35] St. Clair,[36] St. Joseph,[37] Van Buren, and Washtenaw counties. For details see Barnett.
  • 1837 State census.[38] Tallies only; individual names not included except in Kalamazoo County.[39]
  • 1834 Territorial census. Tallies only; individual names not included except in Crawford County (now Wisconsin),[15][40] and Lenawee County.[41]
  • 1827 Territorial census mostly lost. Surviving fragments for Wayne (Detroit),[15][42][43][44][45] Monroe (Lawrence Twp.), and Washtenaw counties
  • 1810 Territorial census,[46] Detroit,[47][48] and Michilimackinac (everything north of Saginaw Bay)[49][50]
  • 1805/1806 Territorial census, Detroit[51][52][53]
  • 1796 Colonial census, Detroit[15][51][54][55][56]
  • 1792 Colonial census, Petite Côte (south shore of Detroit River)[57]
  • 1782 Colonial census, Detroit,[58][59][60] and south shore of Detroit River[61]
  • 1780 Colonial census, Fort St. Joseph (now Niles)[58][62][63]
  • 1779 Colonial census, Detroit[58][64][65]
  • 1768 Colonial census, Detroit area[58][66][67]
  • 1765 Colonial census, Detroit[15][68][69]
  • 1762 Colonial census, Detroit[15][70][71]
  • 1750 Colonial census, Detroit area[58][72][73]
  • 1743 Colonial census, Huron Indian Mission of the Assumption (south shore of Detroit River)[74]
  • 1710 Colonial census, Detroit[58][75][76]

Most state, territorial, and colonial censuses are at the Michigan State Archives. Further archives cited in Barnett, pages 21-23.

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Michigan censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Michigan 1894 Census (FamilySearch Historical Records)


Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. This 1837 Michigan Territorial census index only includes Kalamazoo County, Michigan.
  9. The 1834 Michigan Territorial census also encompassed the land that is now known as Wisconsin. The counties of this western area of the territory were Brown, Crawford and Iowa.
  10. The 1830 federal census of Michigan Territory included parts of present-day northeastern Minnesota.
  11. LeRoy Barnett, "State Censuses of Michigan: A Tragedy of Lost Treasures" and Appendices in Family Trails [FHL Book 977.4 D25f] 6, no. 1 (Summer-Fall 1978): 10.
  12. Barnett, 13-15.
  13. Barnett, 12-13.
  14. Barnett, 11.
  15. 15.00 15.01 15.02 15.03 15.04 15.05 15.06 15.07 15.08 15.09 15.10 15.11 15.12 Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 62-66.
  16. Barnett, 9-10.
  17. Barnett, 8-9, 21-23.
  18. Eva Harmison-Arnold, "1894 State Census of Dickinson County, Michigan," Detroit Society for Genealogical Research Magazine [FHL Book 977.4 C4de] 42 (1978): 11.
  19. Southern Michigan Genealogical Society, Hillsdale County, Michigan, 1894 state census index ([Michigan] : Southern Michigan Genealogical Society, 1989) [FHL Book 977.429 X2hi; Fiche 6067455].
  20. Evelyn M. Sawyer, Index to the 1894 state census, Kent County, Michigan (Grand Rapids [Michigan] : Western Michigan Genealogical Society, c1992) [FHL Book 977.455 X22i 1894].
  21. 21.0 21.1 Betty Spooner, Index to the State of Michigan census for Montcalm County, Michigan, 1884, 1894 (Greenville, Mich. : [s.n.], 1980).
  22. Evelyn M. Sawyer, Index to the 1894 Newaygo County, Michigan state census ([Hudsonville, Mich.] : E.M. Sawyer, 1997) [FHL Book 977.458 X22s 1894].
  23. Sarah Casewell Angell Chapter National Society Daughters of the American Revolution, Ann Arbor, Michigan, Index of 1894 state census for Washtenaw County, Michigan (Ann Arbor, Michigan : Genealogical Society of Washtenaw County, Michigan, c1984) [FHL Book 977.435 X22i].
  24. Barnett, 12.
  25. Barnett, 12.
  26. Barnett, 6-8, 21-23.
  27. Western Michigan Genealogical Society (Grand Rapids, Michigan), Index to the 1884 state census of Kent County, Michigan (Grand Rapids, MI : Western Michigan Genealogical Society, ©1990) [FHL Book 977.455 X22i 1884].
  28. Evelyn M. Sawyer, Index to the 1884 Newaygo County, Michigan state census ([Hudsonville, Mich.] : E.M. Sawyer, 1997) [FHL Book 977.458 X22s 1884].
  29. 1884 Wayne County censuses for the townships of Greenfield, Dearborn, Livonia, Huron, Ecorse, Grosse Pointe, and Hamtramck, and more are being published a few pages at a time in Detroit Society for Genealogical Research Magazine [FHL Book 977.4 C4de] starting in volume 44 to the present.
  30. Barnett, 6, 21-23.
  31. Barnett, 5, 21-23.
  32. Barnett, 4-5, 21-23.
  33. Barnett, 4, 21-23.
  34. "Census Records of Lenawee County, Michigan Territory, 1845" (Typescript, Michigan State Library) as cited in Lainhart, 66. Includes areas now in Hillsdale County.
  35. Mrs. Edmund H. Whitehead, "State Census of Oakland County, Michigan for the year 1845" (Typescript index, Michigan State Library, 1937) as cited in LeRoy Barnett, "State Censuses of Michigan: A Tragedy of Lost Treasurers" and Appendices in Family Trails [FHL Book 977.4 D25f] 6, no. 1 (Summer-Fall 1978): 24.
  36. St. Clair County Family History Group (Port Huron, Michigan), Index to 1845 state census of St. Clair County, Michigan : heads of families and names of white males over twenty-one (Port Huron, Michigan : St. Clair County Family History Group (MI), c1990) [FHL Book 977.441 X22i 1845 index; Film 1425030 Item 18].
  37. Bette Williams, "1845 St. Joseph County, Michigan" ([Kalmazoo: B. Williams, 1968]) [FHL Book 977.419 X2p; Film 927440]. Includes index.
  38. Barnett, 4.
  39. Ruth Robbins Monteith, and Ethel W. Williams, "Michigan State Census of Kalamazoo County, 1837" Michigan Heritage [FHL Book 977.4 B2mh; Film 824236-37], v.1: nos. 2, 3, 4; v.2: nos. 2, 3, 4; v.3: nos. 1, 2, 3; v.4: no. 2. Transcript of names of heads of house and ages of family members, together with annotations often giving outside place of origin.
  40. Barnett, 3, 21-23.
  41. Lucy Walcott, "Census Records of Lenawee County" [1834] (Michigan State Archives, 1935) as cited in LeRoy Barnett, "State Censuses of Michigan: A Tragedy of Lost Treasurers" and Appendices in Family Trails [FHL Book 977.4 D25f] 6, no. 1 (Summer-Fall 1978): 24.
  42. Barnett, 3, 21-23.
  43. Michigan Pioneer and Historical Society, Michigan historical collections (Publisher varies) [FHL Film 844870], 12: following page 461. Typescript census copy listing heads of house and ages of other household members.
  44. Mrs. Edgar Montgomery, and Mrs. Raymond Millbrook, "Wayne County Returns from the Territorial Census of 1827," Detroit Society for Genealogical Research Magazine [FHL Book 977.4 C4de] 19, no. 2 (Winter 1955): 51-57.
  45. Donna Valley Russell, Michigan Censuses 1710-1830: Under the French, British, and Americans (Detroit : Detroit Society for Genealogical Research, 1982) [FHL Book 977.4 X2r], 149-60. Includes index and history of each census.
  46. Barnett, 28-29.
  47. Eva Harmison, "An 1810 census of the District of Detroit, Territory of Michigan" Detroit Society for Genealogical Research Magazine [FHL Book 977.4 C4de] 32, no. 1 (Fall 1968): 17-23.
  48. Russell, 87-99.
  49. "Schedule of the whole number of persons within the Division allotted to Samuel Abbott, Michilimackinac, Feb. 9, 1811" manuscript in the Abbott Family papers in the Burton Historical Collection, Detroit Public Library as cited in Barnett, 29.
  50. Russell, 100.
  51. 51.0 51.1 Barnett, 28.
  52. "Inhabitants of Detroit in the year 1806" Detroit Daily Post [newspaper] May 9, 1876, p. 4 as cited in Barnett, 28.
  53. Russell, 83-86.
  54. "A State of the Number of Male Inhabitants From 16 to 50 Years of Age in the Town of Detroit" Original in the Winthrop Sargent Papers at the Ohio Historical Society as cited in Barnett, 28.
  55. Russell, 59-74.
  56. Donna Valley Stuart, "Detroit 1796 Census," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, 69 (1981): 185. [FHL Book 973 B2ng].
  57. Russell, 57-58.
  58. 58.0 58.1 58.2 58.3 58.4 58.5 Barnett, 27.
  59. "A Survey of the Settlement of Detroit made by Order of Major De Peyster the 16th Day of July 1782" Michigan historical collections (Publisher varies) [FHL Film 844869], 10 (1908): 601-13.
  60. Russell, 49, 52-56.
  61. Russell, 49-52.
  62. "Census of Every Woman, Child and Slave Resident of the Post of St. Joseph" Michigan historical collections (Publisher varies) [FHL Film 844869], 10 (1908): 406-407.
  63. Russell, 47-48.
  64. "Survey of the settlements of Detroit taken 31st March 1779" Michigan historical collections (Publisher varies) [FHL Film 844869], 10 (1908): 311-27.
  65. Russell, 39-46.
  66. Ernest J. Lajeunesse, "Census of all the Inhabitants of Detroit made by Philip DeJean in the Year 1768" in The Windsor border region, Canada's southernmost frontier; a collection of documents ([Toronto] Champlain Society, 1960), 63-64, as cited in Barnett, 27.
  67. Russell, 35-38.
  68. Russell, 29-34.
  69. Donna Valley Stuart, "1765 Census of Detroit, Wayne County, Michigan," Detroit Society for Genealogical Research Magazine [FHL Book 977.4 C4de] 43, (1979): 19.
  70. Russell, 19-28.
  71. Donna Valley Stuart, "Detroit 1762 Census," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, 68 (1980): 15. [FHL Book 973 B2ng].
  72. Ernest J. Lajeunesse, "Census of the Inhabitants of Detroit on September 1st, 1750" in The Windsor border region, Canada's southernmost frontier; a collection of documents ([Toronto] Champlain Society, 1960), 54-56, as cited in Barnett, 27.
  73. Russell, 15-18.
  74. Russell, 13-14.
  75. C.M. Burton, "Census of Detroit de Pontchartrain in the Year 1710" Michigan historical collections (Publisher varies) [FHL Film 844880], 33 (1903): 492-94. Includes extensive biographical annotations.
  76. Russell, 3-12.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 November 2012, at 01:45.
  • This page has been accessed 33,675 times.