MoldovaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png Moldova

Guide to Moldova ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records,and military records.


News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)




Getting started with Moldova research

(Your text or images here)

Jurisdictions

Moldovahis2.jpg

Moldova is a landlocked country in Eastern Europe, located between Romania to the west and Ukraine to the north, east and south. The territory of the present day country was part of Dacia, then fell under the influence of the Roman Empire. In the Middle Ages, most of the present territory of Moldova was part of the Principality of Moldavia. In 1812, the eastern part was annexed by the Russian Empire and became known as Bessarabia. Between 1856 and 1878, two southern counties were returned to Moldavia, which in 1859 united with Wallachia to form modern Romania.

Research Tools

  • (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
  • (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)

Featured Content

(Your text or images here)

Did you know?

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 15:54.
  • This page has been accessed 5,667 times.