Mozambique GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Mozambique ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Getting Started With Mozambican Research
The Mozambique page is here to help you get started doing family history research in Mozambique. It is designed to help you find, obtain, and analzye records pertaining to Mozambique. This page is a work in progess, and your help and contributions are appreciated!
Mozambique is divided into ten provinces (portuguese: provincias) and one capital city, Maputo, with provincial status.The provinces are divided into 129 districts (distritos), which are further divided into 405 Administrative Posts (Postos Administrativos). These are divided into Localities (Localidades), which are the lowest geographical level of the central state administration.
The following are the Provinces of Mozambique with the capital city of each province listed as well:
Province Capital of Province
- Cabo Delegado Pemba
- Gaza Xai-Xai
- Inhambane Inhambane
- Manica Chimoio
- Maputo (Capital) -
- Maputo Matola
- Nampula Nampula
- Niassa Lichinga
- Sofala Beira
- Tete Tete
- Zambezia Quelimane
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
Mozambique is located on the southeast coast of Africa. It is bound by Swaziland to the south, South Africa to the southwest, Zimbabwe to the west, Zambia and Malawi to the northwest, Tanzania to the north and the Indian Ocean to the east. The country is divided into two topographical regions by the Zambezi River. Read more...
- This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 01:33.
- This page has been accessed 7,616 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News