Norfolk CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk

Click on this link for an explanation of England census records.

Census Indexes

In addition to the indexes discussed in the article on England census records, there are census indexes specific to Norfolk county.  One of the earliest census surname indexes available was one created for the counties of Devon, Norfolk and Warwick for the 1851 census.  This index has been published on CD-ROM and is available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and at many Family History Centers.

An index has been created to the 1851 census of people of Norfolk and Suffolk origin who were living at the time in the greater London area.  This index, CD-ROM, is available at the Family History Library (CD no. 3791 pt. 2), and it may be purchased online from the Family History Shop in Norwich. 

The completed 1861 and parts of the 1871, and 1891 censuses of Norfolk are also indexed on FreeCen, which as the name implies, can be searched online for free. Please note that spelling was not standardized during this time period and the transcriptions have been done by what the enumerator wrote and what is thought they meant at the time.

For census information pertaining to specific parishes in the county of Norfolk, go to the Norfolk Parishes pages and click on the link for a parish of interest.

Smaller Local Census Surname Indexes at the Family History Library

Click here (Norfolk Census Surname Index main page) to see a list of the census surname indexes for local places and parishes in this county.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2013, at 15:03.
  • This page has been accessed 8,432 times.