North Korea GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from North Korea)

Asia Gotoarrow.png North Korea

Guide to North Korea ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Getting started with North Korea research

Korea is a 600-mile (966-km) peninsula jutting out from Manchuria and China (and a small portion of the Russia). North Korea occupies an area—slightly smaller than Pennsylvania—north of the 38th parallel. The country is almost completely covered by a series of north-south mountain ranges separated by narrow valleys. The Yalu River forms part of the northern border with Manchuria.


Pyonganbuk ProvinceChagang ProvinceRyanggang ProvinceHamgyongbuk ProvinceRason ProvinceHamgyongnam ProvinceSouth KoreaKangwon ProvinceHwanghaebuk ProvinceHwanghaenam ProvincePyongyang ProvincePyongannam ProvincePyongannam ProvinceChinaNorthkoreaprovinces.jpg
Chagang  · Hamgyongbuk  · Hamgyongnam  · Hwanghaenam  · Hwanghaebuk  · Kangwon  · Pyonganbuk  · Pyongannam  · Pyongyang  · Rason  · Ryanggang

Research Tools


A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Korea, Collection of Genelogies (FamilySearch Historical Records)


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 September 2015, at 22:55.
  • This page has been accessed 6,296 times.