NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Beginners Corner
News

Norway's Digital Archives The National Archival Services of Norway maintains a website in which you can search in transcribed source material for free. Images of the original church books have also been placed there. The digital Archives of Norway Digitized Parish Registers interface can be used in English, Norwegian (Bokmål), Norwegian (Nynorsk) or Samisk (Davvisámegiella). However, the records are written in Norwegian.


NEW! Join a Genealogy Research Community for Norway on Skype or Facebook


Church Records

The Norwegian Church (Den Norske Kirke) kept the vital statistics of the population. See Church Records for the contents and in-depth descriptions of the records. The links to the records available at the Family History Library are found in the individual parish under the Parishes and Congregations Section of each county.

  • Hot off the Press!

more...

Topics
Get Help Reading Records



Events
  • Current Events
Useful Websites
  • Websites
Find us on
Facebook

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community


Contents

Getting started with Norway research

Flag of Norway.png
Welcome to the Norway Page!

 
FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Norway Portal page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Norwegian records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. Please visit the Contributor Help page to learn more about using the site. The Norway Portal Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!

See the tutorials at FamilySearch Learning Center on Scandinavian Research and on Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records.'


FinnmarkFinnmarkTromsTromsNordlandNordlandNord-TrøndelagNord-TrøndelagSør-TrøndelagSør-TrøndelagMøre og RomsdalMøre og RomsdalSogn og FjordaneSogn og FjordaneOpplandOpplandHedmarkHedmarkHordalandHordalandBuskerudBuskerudAkershusAkershusOsloOsloBergen City (former county)Bergen City (former county)ØstfoldØstfoldVestfoldVestfoldTelemarkTelemarkRogalandRogalandVest-AgderVest-AgderAust-AgderAust-AgderNorway 2x2.jpg


Counties (Fylker)

Research Tools

Digitalarkivet (Norway's Digital Archives)

The National Archival Services of Norway maintains a website in which you can search in transcribed source material for free.

Please note that this site is undergoing a restructuring. On March 31, 2014 the old system of searching will be replaced by the new. A very substantial difference between the new Digital Archives (DA) and the old (ODA) is that users are now able to search across all sources at once.

To use this choose Select Source (Finn Kilde) from the menu. Here you may choose the type of record(s) you want to search for the geographical location of your choice.


Scanned images of the original church books are also found on the Digital Archives. The Parish Registers interface can be used in English, Norwegian (Bokmål), Norwegian (Nynorsk) or Samisk (Davvisámegiella). However, the records are written in Norwegian.


A wiki article describing an online collecton is found at:



Research Strategies

  • (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
  • (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)

Help Wanted

The Moderator for the Norway content is steuartrc. In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

Featured Content

Take a look at the Bergen Norway Page, it contains links to some of the Emigrants leaving Norway for the United States from the ports in Bergen. Another useful Website for Norway research is Fylkesarkivet i Sogn, can be read in English or Norweigian.

Related Pages

Finland

Flag of Finland (bordered).jpg

Sweden

Flag of Sweden2.png

Denmark

Flag of Denmark.png

Iceland

Flag of Iceland.png

Scandinavia

Scandinavian Flags.jpg

Norwegian American

United States flag.png

Did you know?

  • You can also view a Photo Album of Farms as part of the digital archives of the Norwegian National Archives. It contains patron-submitted photos of 1900-era farms. There is a link in the album between a farm photo and the respective farm in the 1900 census list, so that one can find information on the farm and household.
  • During the 1500-1800’s it was very common for the Norwegian people to use a patronymic naming system. They would take the father’s given name and add “sen/son” or “datter”. Others chose to use the name of the farm they were associated with as their last names. This really was an address, but some of these farm names were continued through many generations and have become last names.
  • In 1923 a new naming law (Navneloven av 1923) came into effect, and people now had to choose a family name. The change from patronymics to family names had already started in the mid-1870; the cities had started a little earlier and the smaller parishes a little later. However, the law was approved 1923.
    In 2003 another law was put into practice. It was now again legal to choose a patronymic or matronymic name.
  • Farm names are very important in locating people in Norway. Through these names you can find parishes and then your ancestors in the parish registers.

Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Norway


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 01:53.
  • This page has been accessed 92,644 times.