NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire

Guide to Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Flag of Nottinghamshire
Location of Nottinghamshire in England
Nottinghamshire (abbreviated Notts) is a county in the East Midlands of England.

Contents

Featured Content

"NOTTINGHAMSHIRE or Notts, a midland county; bounded, on the N W, by Yorkshire; on the N E and the E, by Lincolnshire; on the S E and the S, by Leicestershire; on the W, by Derbyshire... Its greatest length, from N to S, is 50 miles; its greatest breadth, from E to W, is 27 miles; its circuit is about 150 miles; and its area is 526,076 acres...

" Notts contains 209 parishes, parts of 2 others, and 14 extra-parochial places...

"The places of worship within the electoral county, in 1851, were 248 of the Church of England, 21 of Independents, 14 of Particular Baptists, 14 of General Baptists, 23 of New Connexion General Baptists, 1 of Scotch Baptists, 2 of Baptists undefined, 3 of Quakers, 2 of Unitarians, 160 of Wesleyan Methodists, 15 of New Connexion Methodists, 78 of Primitive Methodists, 8 of the Wesleyan Association, 8 of Wesleyan Reformers, 4 of Independent Methodists, 1 of the New Church, 10 of isolated congregations, 1 of the Catholic and Apostolic church, 11 of Latter Day Saints, 5 of Roman Catholics, and 1 of Jews...

"Population in 1801 was 140,350; in 1821, 186,873; in 1841, 249,910; and in 1861, 293,867..."

The above extract comes from:  John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).  To see the full account, go to Vision of Britain


Research Tools

Jurisdictions

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Nottinghamshire.

Church Records

Strays of Nottinghamshire people married mainly in Leicester and Lincolnshire dated 1655 onwards, with a few from other Counties. Gives the Surname and forename the address then the spouse surname and given name at County, and town and date, with an alphabetical listing at the end, with some married overseas. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 98, pages1-25. Family History Ref. 942.52 D25n also another listing with  people of Nottinghamshire, married mainly in Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Lincolnshire dated from 1645, gives surname given name, where from in Nottinghamshire, and their spouse, County where marriage took place and date. Nottinghamshire  Family History Society Magazine, vol. 92, pages 1-13. Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n also another listing of Marriages   of people originally from Nottinghamshire, married in various Counties, starting in 1616, also the baptisms of children, listing child's name Parent's name, where from and where the baptism took place, mainly in Derbyshire, and date, starting in 1767. Burials also starting in 1563.  Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 86, pages 1-25, Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n. Also vol. 56, pages 1-32. Also vol. 79, pages 1-9, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n, also vol 81, pages 5-14, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Stray Marriages, This is an alphabetical listing of Spouse, surname, given name, and then name of Nottinghashire resident, to whom they married.  There are no dates given or place.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 81, page 1-4, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Marriages, of Nottinghamshire folk married mainly in Lincolnshire, Leicestershire, Yorkshire, Derbyshire, Wales, Kent, and a few overseas at the end,  from 1702-one as late as 1948, baptisms from 1719, and burials from 1731.  Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.98, pages 1-30, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Nottinghamshire - General Hospital Chapel.  Transcription of Memorial Inscriptions from inside the Chapel of some of the Staff dated from 1900, giving surname, given name, position they held, and date of death.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 87, page10, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Nottingham - The Religious Society of Friends, Quaker Meeting House, Clarendon St. An alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions in the Church yard, giving surname, middle name, date of death, and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 87, pages 15-16, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n 

Transcribed by Makins, R.E.A. A List of Nottinghamshire Residents Married in Leicestershire Extracted from the Leicestershire Marriages Index 1801-1837. Article is an alphabetical list of the Nottinghamshire resident's name followed by the name of her/her parish: then follows the partner's name, an abbreviation for the name of the Leicestershire parish where the marriage took place, and then the date. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine, vol. 88, pages 55-69, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

South Nottinghamshire Marriages 1813-1837 from the 32 southernmost parishes of Nottinghamshire, Alphabetical listing groom's surname, given name, the spouse surname, given name, the Parish name, and the date of the wedding.  It is cross referenced with bride's name in the latter part. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 52, pages 1-57, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Nottinghamshire Marriages Indes 1754-1812.  Marriages from the centre and south of the County, from 23 parishes.  Part 1, A-D, Part 2, E-K, Part 3 L-R, Part 4, S-Z.  An alphabetical listing of surname, given name, and bride's surname, given name, name of the parish, where wedding took place and the date.At the end of each Part, there is an alphabetical listing of the bride's name, with page reference to the groom.  Copies of these volumes can be found at the Nottinghamshire County Library and the Nottingham University Library. Transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 61, part 1-4, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Settlement and Removal Orders and Certificates.  An alphabetical listing of surname, given name, from a named parish in Nottinghamshire, removed to places in Lincolnshire. Gives the Certificate number, but no date.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine no. 81, pages 53-65, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Civil Districts

When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Nottinghamshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes.  The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place.  Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Nottinghamshire and the parishes covered by each.  Read more about England Civil Registration.

Council Cemetery.  Chilwell Council Cemetery - Field Lane. 

An alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions, , giving surname, given name, date of death, and age, dated from 1917. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 78, pages 25-31, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Emigration-Immigration.

Holland, Barry.  Across the Ocean Wide, an Index of those persons sentenced to Transportation in Nottinghamshire 1784-1867.  An alphabetical list gives surname, given name, age, date, place in Nottinghamshire sentence given, Origin/crime, year destination and the ship on which they travelled. Included is folk with aliases.  Surname index at back of article. Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 103, pages 1-105, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n vol. 103.

Military

Peters, Doreen. Sherwood Foresters' Militia - The killed and wounded.  Extract from the Newark Herald, Saturday June 23, 1900. A listing of the soldiers killed or wounded at Roodeval North West Africa, from Nottinghamshire, giving surname, initials, position and their Military number in the Army, their descendant, and address of residence. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 111, pages 29-33, Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n

Parishes

See a list of parishes of Nottinghamshire with links to articles.

Probate Jurisdictions

Before 1858, every town and parish in Nottinghamshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts.  To read more about probate records and see a list of Nottinghamshire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records.

 Websites

To view a further list of web sites and/or web pages for Nottinghamshire and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.

Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Nottinghamshire


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 November 2014, at 20:04.
  • This page has been accessed 6,989 times.