Oklahoma CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  U.S. Census  Gotoarrow.png  Oklahoma  Gotoarrow.png  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Oklahoma indexes and images

1900-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Oklahoma and Indian Territory 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1907 Territorial indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1900 indexes Link Soundex - OK
Terr
Link
Ind
Terr
Link
- Link Link Link Link -
images OK and Indian Territories are separate Link Link - OK
Terr
Link
Ind
Terr
Link
- OK
Terr
Link
Ind
Terr
Link
OK
Terr
Link
Ind
Terr
Link
OK
Terr
Link
Ind
Terr
Link
- Link

1860-1890

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Oklahoma and Indian Territory 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
partial 1890 Territorial indexes - - Link - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - OK
Terr
Link
OK
Terr
Link
OK
Terr
Link
- -
1860[8] indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Link - - AR
Link
AR
Link
AR
Link
AR
Link
- Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 and Soundex
1930 1900 and Soundex
1920 and Soundex 1900 Indian Territory


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624 and Soundex T1273
1930 T626 1900 T623 and Soundex T1066
1920 T625 and Soundex M1582
 

1860. The "Indian Lands" (Oklahoma) non-Indian population schedules are at the very end of Family History Library film 803054 (M653 roll 52) after Yell County, Arkansas. This census and a published index are available at the National Archives Southwest Region (Ft. Worth), the Oklahoma Historical Society, and the Family History Library.

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Oklahoma, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Oklahoma

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1890 Veterans - - Link Link Link
1860 Slave owner (as part of Arkansas Indian Lands) - Link[9] Link Link Link
1860 Mortality (as part of Arkansas Indian Lands) - - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Civil War Union veterans and their widows, 1890  Flint district Cherokee census and emigrants,1852
Census and school records, 1879-1943 1851 Cherokee Old Settlers' annuity roll
1878 annuity rolls of Chickasaw Nation Cherokee Nation east, roll of 1835
Cherokee census rolls, 1880


Many other Indian census rolls and records are located at the Family History Library.  See Oklahoma - Census in the FamilySearch Catalog for a list of these records. For an index also see the web site: http://www.accessgenealogy.com/native/finalindex.php 

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Oklahoma, click here.

State and territorial censuses

Oklahoma often took censuses in the years before and between the federal censuses, the dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

Oklahoma (and Indian Territory) state, territorial, colonial censuses[10][11]
Exact Date Population Schedules
1907 Statistical State Census
1890 Jun Territorial Census: for the counties of Logan, Oklahoma, Cleveland, Canadian, Kingfisher, Payne, and Beaver only.
  • 1890 territorial census. A card index is available at the Oklahoma State Historical Society. A helpful source for locating families in this census is Smith's First Directory of Oklahoma Territory: For the Year Commencing August 1st, 1890 (see the “Directories” section of this Oklahoma Wiki article)
  • 1880  The Cherokee Nation 1880 census covering the Canadian, Cooweescoowee, Delaware, Flint, Going Snake, Illinois, Saline, Sequoyah and Tahlequah districts is for Indians only. This also includes census rolls of various years of Delaware Indians holding citizenship in the Cherokee Nation. FHL US/CAN Film 989204. The Cherokee Nation 1880 Indian census is indexed on the Internet at: http://www.accessgenealogy.com/native/finalindex.php  This index does not include census images.

Historical Background

Many special censuses were taken in Oklahoma, especially censuses of Indians. For more information about these, see the State, territorial, and colonial censuses section above. For information on censuses of specific Indian Tribes, see Indians of Oklahoma.

In 1819 Arkansas Territory (including most of what is now Oklahoma) was created from the southern part of the Missouri Territory.

1820. Some general white settlememt had started in what is now the far southeast corner of Oklahoma. They were counted on the census of Miller County, Arkansas, which included parts of what is now Arkansas, Oklahoma, and Texas. But these population schedules are lost.[12]

In 1828 the western boundary of Arkansas was established, separating the Indian Territory (to become Oklahoma) from what had been Arkansas Territory and including part of the southern edge of what had been Missouri Territory.[13]

At first, some white settlers departed when the area was set aside for the Indians. After Indian government proved effective, more whites began to settle in Indian Territory.

1830-1850. No other federal censuses were taken in present-day Oklahoma in 1830, 1840, or 1850.

1860. The non-Indians of what is now Oklahoma were counted in 1860 in what were called the Indian Lands of Arkansas Territory.[14]  This census does not list Indians, but lists free and slave inhabitants in the Cherokee, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole nations. The slave schedules provide the names of slave owners, but not the names of slaves.

1870. No census available.

1880. All non-Indian and most Indian schedules are lost. Only the Cherokee Indian schedules survive.[15]

1890. The population schedules were destroyed. The special census of Civil War Union veterans and widows survives for both the Oklahoma and Indian Territories.[16]

In addition to the federal censuses, a separate census was taken in 1890 of the Oklahoma Territory. Censuses exist for Logan, Oklahoma, Cleveland, Canadian, Kingfisher, Payne and Beaver counties. This includes information on the entire household but is incomplete for some areas. 

1900. Oklahoma was split between Indian Territory to the southeast, and Oklahoma Territory to the northwest on the 1900 census.[17]  The following map shows modern county boundaries and the division between Indian and Oklahoma  territories.Oklahoma1900.png

In 1907 Indian Territory and Oklahoma Territory combined to become the state of Oklahoma.

1910, 1920, and 1930. Federal censuses of Oklahoma are available, and have been indexed for each of these years.

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Oklahoma censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. Non-Indians on Indian Territory were enumerated as part of Arkansas Territory.
  9. HeritageQuest has slave owner schedule images only.
  10. Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992), 95-96.
  11. Henry J. Dubester, State Censuses: An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States (Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1948), 52.
  12. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 275.
  13. Ibid., 275-76.
  14. Ibid., 276, and The 1790-1890 Federal Population Censuses: Catalog of National Archives Microfilm, rev. ed. (Washington, DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, 1993), 26.
  15. Thorndale and Dollarhide, 277, and FamilySearch Catalog entry for the title "Cherokee census rolls, 1880".
  16. Anne Bruner Eales, and Robert M. Kvasnicka, Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives, 3rd ed. (Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 2000), 37, and the Family History Catalog entry for the title "Schedules enumerating Union veterans and widows of Union veterans of the Civil War".
  17. Thorndale and Dollarhide, 278.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:05.
  • This page has been accessed 42,149 times.