Oregon CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png U.S. Census Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Oregon Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Oregon indexes and images

1880-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Oregon 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link -
Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1850-1880

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Oregon 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1860 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link Link
images -
Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1845-1895 Territorial and State indexes - - Link  - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1850[8] indexes Link - Link  - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Oregon Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
FHL Collection 1930 FHL Collection 1910 FHL Collection 1880 and Soundex FHL Collection 1860
FHL Collection 1920 and Soundex FHL Collection 1900 and Soundex FHL Collection 1870 FHL Collection 1850


Oregon Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1930 T626 1900 T623 and Soundex T1067 1860 M653
1920 T625 and Soundex M1583 1880 T9 and Soundex T768 1850 M432
1910 T624 1870 M593


Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Oregon, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Oregon

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1890 Veterans - - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality - - Link Link Link
1860 Mortality - - Link Link Link
1850 Mortality - - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Indian Census Rolls
FHL Collection Indians census rolls, Greenville, 1916-1923] FHL Collection Klamath Agency census, 1886-1889]
FHL Collection Klamath Agency census, 1907-1937] FHL Collection Klamath Agency census, 1885-1889]
FHL Collection Klamath Agency census, 1898-1906 FHL Collection Indian census rolls, Grand Ronde, 1885-1914
FHL Collection Klamath Agency census, 1892, 1893, 1896 FHL Collection Tribal Census Information, 1877-1952
FHL Collection Klamath Agency census, 1887


Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Oregon, click here.

State and territorial censuses

Oregon took censuses in the years between the federal censuses, the dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

State and Territorial Censuses of Oregon
1905 State census Baker, Lane, Linn and Marion counties [9] [10]
1895 State census Linn, Morrow, Multnomah, Marion counties [9] [10]
1885 State census Linn and Umatilla counties only [9] [10]
1875 State census Umatilla county [9] [10]
1870 State census Umatilla county [9] [10]
1865 State census Benton, Columbia, Marion and Umatilla counties [9] [10]
1859 Territorial census Clatsop, Umpqua (now Douglas) counties[9] [10]
1858 Territorial census Benton, Clatsop, Coos, Curry, Umpqua (now Douglas) counties[9] [10] [11]
1857 Territorial census Benton, Clackamas, Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, Tillamook, Umpqua (now Douglas), Washington counties[9] [10]
1856 Territorial census Benton, Clackamas, Columbia, Curry, Polk, and Washington counties[9] [10]
1855 Territorial census Coos and Jackson counties[9] [10]
1854 Territorial census Benton, Clatsop, and Jackson counties[9] [10]
1853 Territorial census Benton, Marion, Polk, Umpqua (now Douglas), Washington and counties[9] [10]
1849 Apportionment Census of Males over 21 --Benton, Champoeg, Clackamas, Clatsop, Lewis (Washington State), Linn, Polk, Tualatin, Vancouver (Washington State), and Yamhill counties[9] [10]
1845-46 Tualaty county (now Washington State)[9] [10]
1845 Champoeg (now Marion), Clackamas, Clatsop, and Yamhill[9] [10]
1842 Elijah White Census (persons living south of the Columbia River)[9] [10]
Census Subtitute

1836-1837 Slacum's Report on Oregon. Print copy in the Oregon Historical Quarterly] Vol 13: Jun 1912, 175-224. WorldCat 1714620FHL 979.5 B2h v. 13 [10]

Copies of state and territorial censuses are available at the Oregon State Archives. Most state and territorial censuses 1842-1859 are available at the Family History Library: } Provisional and territorial census record of Oregon, 1842-1859 (Salem, Oregon: Oregon State Archives, 1970) FHL Collection Film 899786.

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Oregon censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. The 1850 federal census of Oregon Territory included the populated western regions of present-day Oregon and Washington.
  9. 9.00 9.01 9.02 9.03 9.04 9.05 9.06 9.07 9.08 9.09 9.10 9.11 9.12 9.13 9.14 9.15 9.16 Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992) [FHL book 973 X2Lai], 97-98. WorldCat 26517040
  10. 10.00 10.01 10.02 10.03 10.04 10.05 10.06 10.07 10.08 10.09 10.10 10.11 10.12 10.13 10.14 10.15 10.16 10.17 Connie Miller Lenzen, Research in Oregon Research in Oregon] (Arlington, Virginia: National Genealogical Association, 2007), 16-17. WorldCat 175301069FHL Collection Book 979.5 D27L 1992
  11. Ronald Vern Jackson, Scott D. Rosenkilde, W. David Samuelsen, Oregon Census Records 1951-1859] (North Salt Lake, Utah: Accelerated Systems, 1984) WorldCat 13235027

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2012, at 23:31.
  • This page has been accessed 9,179 times.