Ortssippenbücher in BadenEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

What is an Ortssippenbuch or Ortsfamilienbuch?

An Ortssippenbuch (OSB) or Ortsfamilienbuch (OFB) includes birth, marriage, and death data for all persons found in a specific locality during a specified time period. Sources are varied and usually include local parish registers, but will often rely on other records, such as civil registration records, and court and land records.

How is an Ortssippenbuch organised and what will you find there?

An Ortssippenbuch is usually arranged alphabetically by surname and then chronologically by marriage date. A number of symbols for events are used to save space, such as * for birth, ∞ for marriage, and + for death. Abbreviations will also be used. To the novice, all these special symbols and abbreviations look very imposing and make the books difficult to use. But once these are mastered, the books become easy to use and are a great resource. You will find vital information on persons and possibly be able to link family lines for several generations.

Time period

Ortssippenbücher usually end at the time very near to publication, which means that they can run all the way up to the present. They will go back in time to the earliest records of that locality. So, the starting dates vary considerably. In general, the dates begin in the 16th or 17th century, but some go back as far as the 15th century, as do those from the FHL.

Where to find Ortssippenbücher


The Family History Library has a large collection of OSBs. It has just over 100 from Baden alone.  In the Familysearch catalog under ‘Place-names,’ type the name of the town you are searching; when the list of types of records for that locality appears, click on ‘genealogy.’

Online Resources for Ortssippenbücher in Baden


The Evangelische Landeskirche in Baden lists nearly 300 places in approximately 150 books. Genealogy.net lists approximately 150 OSB books, and another 250 OFB. The books on this website are searchable by surname or place.

Some Ortssippenbücher can also be found in the Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 August 2013, at 05:49.
  • This page has been accessed 2,464 times.