Pitcairn IslandsEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Pacific Island Guide Pitcairn Islands
Guide to Pitcairn Islands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
The Pitcairn Islands (Pitkern: Pitkern Ailen), officially named the Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, are a group of four volcanic islands in the southern Pacific Ocean. The islands are a British overseas territory, the last remaining in the Pacific. Only Pitcairn Island the second largest in the group, is inhabited.
Upon arrival at Pitcairn Island in January 1790, the crew of the ship Bounty discovered the island had previously been inhabited. Many relics of a Polynesian civilization were found scattered around the island. Roughly hewn stone gods, which guarded sacred sites, representations of animals and men carved into cliff faces, burial sites yielding human skeletons, and earth ovens, stone adzes, gouges, and other artefacts of Polynesian workmanship were discovered.
(Add text and/or an image here)
- Pitcairn Islands GenWeb
(Your text or images here)
(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)
Things you can do
(In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
- This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 18:57.
- This page has been accessed 2,253 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page