Prince Edward Island CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Canada Gotoarrow.png Prince Edward Island Gotoarrow.png Census

Census

Census records, which contain the official enumeration of the population, are one of the most valuable sources of genealogical information. Returns prior to 1851 usually contain statistics but no names or list only the heads of households and the total number of individuals residing in each household.

Censuses which list each person individually provide details such as age, sex, place of birth, religion, ethnic origin, occupation, marital status, and education. In order to search the census records, the approximate locality must be known because the census is arranged by township within each county.

Information about the following censuses is available at the Family History Library:

1841 Lists heads of families for Princes County, districts 1 and 4; Queens County, districts 5–10; and Kings County, districts 13–15.

1861 Lists heads of families for Princes County; Kings County; Queens County; and townships 20–67, Charlottetown, and Charlottetown Royalty.

1871 Census is missing except for lots 34 and 36. A book entitled The Index to the 1870 Commissioner of Public Land's Report is a census substitute and is available from the Prince Edward Island Genealogical Society. Information about the book can be found at http://www.peibooks.ca/GenealogyResources/1870CommissionerReport.html

1881,1891 Lists all members of the household. Records are available for miscellaneous townships in

1901 Queens, Kings, and Princes Counties. See the Locality Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND - CENSUS.

The 1901 census also includes date of birth, year of immigration, and address or location of land. (The return is in both French and English.)

Online Canadian Indexes and Images  

Online National and Provincial Population Schedules of Canada
  Free  Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)*  Pay
Family
Search[1]
 
Automated Genealogy[2]  Library Archives Canada[2]  Ancestry FHL[3]  Ancestry Library[3]  Ancestry Home[3]
1921 available after 1 Jun 2013  indexes  -
images  -
1911  indexes  Link  Link  Link  Link  Link
images  Link  Link  Link  Link  Link
1901  indexes  Link  Link  Link  Link  Link  Link
images  Link  Link  Link  Link  Link
1891 indexes  Link - Link Link Link Link
images  - - Link Link Link  Link
1881  indexes  Link  Link  Link  Link  Link
images  Link  Link  Link  Link

1871 incomplete

indexes - - Link Link Link Link
images - - Link Link Link Link
1861 Provincial  indexes  - Link  Link  Link
images  Link  Link  Link




A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Prince Edward Island Census 1861 (FamilySearch Historical Records)


  1. FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Automated Genealogy, a free online service includes links to free images found at the  Library and Archives Canada.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving national and many provincial census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 15:51.
  • This page has been accessed 2,995 times.