Prussia - Pommern GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Prussia - Pommern)

Germany Gotoarrow.png Pommern
Guide to Prussia - Pommern ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


Welcome to the Pommern page! FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Pommern Portal page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. Please visit the to learn more about using the site. The Pommern Portal Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!

Beginning Pommern (Pomerania) Research

Conducting research in an area of the world where neither the government nor peoples of that former land remain can be challenging. The following articles are provided to assist you in conducting more effective searches:

Free Tools, Techniques & Guides to Help conduct Prussian/German Research

Background

The name Pomerania comes from Slavic "po more", which means Land by the Sea. The adjective for the region is Pomeranian (Polish: pomorski, German: pommersch), inhabitants are called Pomeranians (Polish: Pomorzanie, German: Pommern).

This former maritime province of Germany is situated on the southern Baltic coast. The area was settled by the Slavic tribes Pomorzanie and Polabs in the 5th century AD. German migration into the western and central regions of Pomerania began in the late 12th century. In 1648, Sweden acquired western Pomerania (Vorpommern) by the Treaty of Westphalia, part of which was returned to Brandenburg in 1720. In 1815, Prussia recovered the rest of western Pomerania, thus uniting it with central Pomerania into one province called Pommern. Eastern Pomerania (Hinterpommern) was annexed by Prussia in 1772. In 1919, the Treaty of Versailles created the Polish Corridor, dividing Prussia and leaving part of Pomerania as a German border province with an area of 11,644 sq. miles. 

The region was strongly affected by post–World War I and II border and population shifts. After Nazi Germany's defeat in World War II, the German–Polish border was shifted west to the Oder–Neisse line and all of Pomerania was under Soviet military control. The German population of the areas east of the line was expelled (forcibly removed), and the area was resettled primarily with Poles (some themselves expellees from former eastern Poland, today Ukraine) and some Jews and Ukrainians (resettled under Operation Vistula). Most of Western Pomerania (Vorpommern) remains in Germany, and today it forms the eastern part of the state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, while the Polish part is divided between the West Pomeranian and Pomeranian voivodeships, with their capitals in Szczecin and Gdańsk.

Now divided between Germany and Poland, Pomerania stretches roughly from the Recknitz river near Stralsund in the west, via the Odra River delta near Szczecin, to the mouth of the Łeba river or the Żarnowieckie Lake near Lębork. It is sometimes also considered to encompass Pomerelia (Pomorze Gdańskie), up to the Vistula River delta near Gdańsk in the east, as well as Chełmno Land in the south. The contemporary Pomeranian Voivodeship encompasses only a part of historical Pomerania.

Genealogy Records & Record "Loss"

Large numbers of genealogy records from this region are either lost or very difficult to obtain. The LDS Church only holds a small subset of the records that existed prior to WW2. For details on this please visit The Max Kade Institute for German-American Studies webpage at the University of Wisconsin.

Government & Jurisdictions

Oberpräsidenten (Over President)

1815 - 1816 Karl Heinrich Ludwig Freiherr von Ingersleben
1816 - 1831 Johann August Sack
1831 - 1835 Moritz Haubold Freiherr von Schönberg
1835 - 1852 Wilhelm Friedrich Fürchtegott von Bonin
1852 - 1866 Ernst Karl F. W. Freiherr Senfft von Pilsach
1867 - 1882 Ferdinand Freiherr von Münchhausen
1883 - 1891 Ulrich Graf von Behr-Negendank
1891 - 1899 Robert Victor von Puttkamer
1900 - 1911 Helmuth Freiherr von Maltzahn
1911 - 1917 Wilhelm von Waldow-Reitzenstein
1917 - 1918 Hermann Freiherr von Ziller
März 1918 - April 1919 Georg Michaelis
1919 - 1930 Julius Lippmann
1930 - Okt. 1933 Carl von Halfern
1934 - 1945 Franz Schwede-Coburg

Population (Census) & Religious Distribution

1871-1,431,633: 1,397,467 Protestants, 16,858 Catholics, 4,266 other Christian, 13,036 Jews
1875- 1,461,983
1880- 1,540,034
1890- 1,520,889: 1,476,300 Protestants, 27,476 Catholics, 4,788 other Christian, 12,246 Jews
1900- 1,634,832: 1,579,080 Protestants, 38,169 Catholics, 6,587 other Christian, 10,880 Jews
1925- 1,878,781: 1,787,691 Protestants, 65,897 Catholics, 2,064 other Christian, 7,761 Jews
1933- 1,920,897: 1,825,093 Protestants, 60,535 Catholics, 702 other Christian, 6,317 Jews
1939- 2,393,844: 2,138,277 Protestants, 176,017 Catholics, 12,420 other Christian, 3,283 Jews

Votes/ elections
Reichstag elections in Pomerania 1907 1912
Deutschkonservativ 49,5 % 45,4 %
Reichspartei 2,6 % -
Nationalliberal 1,0 % 8,8 %
Wirtschaftliche Vereinigung 1,5 % -
Freisinnige Vereinigung 18,7 % -
Freisinnige Volkspartei 4,2 % -
Fortschrittliche Volkspartei - 20,3 %
Zentrum 0,3 % 0,0 %
Polenpartei 0,4 % 0,4 %
SPD 19,9 % 24,0 %
Andere Parteien 1,8 % 0,0 %
Unbestimmt - 1,1 %
Zersplittert 0,1 % 0,0 %

By Kreis (District/ County)

1900 

Regierungsbezirk Stettin

Regierungsbezirk Köslin

Regierungsbezirk Stralsund

1940

Regierungsbezirk Stettin

Regierungspräsident: (1926) Dr. Höhnen
(1932) Dr. C. v. Halfern

  • Landkreis Anklam
  • Landkreis Cammin
  • Landkreis Demmin
  • Landkreis Franzburg-Barth
  • Landkreis Greifenhagen
  • Stadtkreis Greifswald
  • Landkreis Greifswald
  • Landkreis Grimmen
  • Landkreis Naugard
  • Landkreis Pyritz
  • Landkreis Randow
  • Landkreis Rügen
  • Landkreis Saatzig
  • Stadtkreis Stargard i. Pommern
  • Stadtkreis Stettin
  • Stadtkreis Stralsund
  • Landkreis Ueckermünde
  • Landkreis Usedom-Wollin

Regierungsbezirk Köslin

Regierungspräsident:

(1926 - 1932) C. Cronau
(1944) Dr. Müller

  • Landkreis Belgard
  • Landkreis Bütow
  • Landkreis Greifenberg
  • Stadtkreis Köslin
  • Landkreis Köslin
  • Stadtkreis Kolberg
  • Landkreis Kolberg-Körlin
  • Landkreis Lauenburg i. Pommern
  • Landkreis Regenwalde
  • Landkreis Rummelsburg
  • Landkreis Schlawe i. Pommern
  • Stadtkreis Stolp
  • Landkreis Stolp

Regierungsbezirk Grenzmark Posen-Westpreußen

Regierungspräsident:

(1944) Eckhardt


Research Tools

  • (helpful tools and resources)
  • (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)

Featured Content

(Your text or images here)

Things You Can Do

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

Websites

News & Events
Topics
Did You Know?
Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Germany courses.
Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Poland courses.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 June 2015, at 20:12.
  • This page has been accessed 10,211 times.