Prussia - PosenEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Germany Gotoarrow.png Posen (Poznan)

Guide to Prussia - Posen ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Welcome to the Posen page!

FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Posen Portal page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. Please visit the help page to learn more about using the site. The Posen Portal Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!

Getting Started with Posen (Poznan) Research

Jurisdictions

By Kreis

Research Tools

There are many tools available to the researcher of Posen ancestors.

Posen-L websites

The most complete online resource for Posen genealogical research is the website for the Posen-L mailing list, in two forms:

Among the most important resources at these two sister sites, are:

  • A town search tool with "fuzzy" search logic
  • Ability to record your personal research interests and to contact others and to be contacted.
  • The Wiki section contains a comprehensive hierarchical set of articles (over 10,000) for every Kreis ("county"), village/town/estate, every parish, police, civil registration office, court and military district. You can start at the article for the Province of Posen and drill down, or you can use the Town Search tool (above) to find links directly to the town or parish articles.
  • A good collection of resource links that are of the most use to Posen researchers.

Poznan Marriages Project

Another very useful site helps you locate marriages in Posen Church records.  These are being extracted and put on a database by volunteers.

Featured Content

(Your text or images here)

Things You Can Do

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

Websites

News & Events
Topics
Did You Know?
Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Germany courses.
Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Poland courses.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 November 2014, at 21:17.
  • This page has been accessed 9,113 times.