Prussia - WestpreußenEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Prussia - Westpreußen ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Welcome to the Westpreußen page! FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Westpreußen page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. Please visit the help page to learn more about using the site. The Westpreußen Portal Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!
Getting Started with Westpreußen Research
Jurisdictions of Westpreußen (West Prussia)
Provinz Westpreußen was established in 1773 when the First Polish Republic was divided between Prussia, Russia and Austro-Hungarian Empires. Proviz Westpreussia was divided in 1806 by Napoleon, and restored in 1815. In 1919 the Treaty of Versailles granted most of Westpreußen to the Second Polish Republic. This action created the "Polish Corridor" and granted Poland access to the Baltic Sea. Westpreußen was disestablished in 1922.
During the long period of German administration, most civil records and many church records used for researching family history were written in the German language. A notable exception was Catholic church records, which were kept in the Latin language.
In 1900 Westpreußen (West Prussia) was divided into two Regierungsbezirke, namely Danzig and Marienwerder:
|Regierungsbezirk||Communities||Area in square kilometers||Population|
|Total for Westpreußen||3,362||3,265||25,534.9||25,554.64||1,563,658||1,703474|
Jurisdictions by Kreis
- (helpful tools and resources)
- (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)
(Your text or images here)
Things You Can Do
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
- This page was last modified on 28 November 2014, at 21:30.
- This page has been accessed 9,203 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page