Quick Research Links - EnglandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Cambridge England
 

England Jurisdictions 1851

FreeBMD – civil registration

England - Wales Free BMD Marriage Index: 1837-1915

FreeCen – UK Census Online

Free REG – Free parish registers

Online Parish Clerks

GENUKI - genuki

Poor Law Unions – To understand the site better, read the -introductory paragraph (gateway to all workhouses and Poor Law Unions).

Vision of Britain – historical statistics, maps writings and more

Gazetteer of British institutions

English GenWeb Project – to help researchers find local resources and reference information

UK BMD - gateway to hundreds of online databases

UK Census Online

Pallot’s Baptism Index for England: 1780-1837 - Baptism Indexenglandsidebar Here

Pallot’s Marriage Index for England 1780-1837 - Pallots Marriage Index/englandsidebar Here
Cyndi’s List

The Army Children Archive (TACA)” 

England:Shovellers The above link is a list of Wesleyan Methodist chapels and circuits in England and Wales comes from the source "List of chapels included in Wesleyan circuits: and shewing the name of the chapel in whose register entries of baptisms, performed in smaller places of worship, may be found," by John Shoveller. (FHL book 942 K24wc; film 990377 Item 4.)

United Kingdom FamilySearch Historical Records:

British Isles, Merchant Marines, Register of Seamen Series I to III and Seaman Tickets (FamilySearch Historical Records).

Contents

Great Britain

Film numbers

  • 1419469 -72 (Births, Marriages and Deaths as Sea)
  • 1483314-20 (Deaths at Sea, Merchant Marine Registers)
  • 1484034, 1818454, 1818455 – Marriages in foreign countries.

i.e. (Consulate (Chefoo, China); British Embassy in Paris, France;

Florence, Italy.

"Lex, loci" marriages are those administered under the country's marriage laws.

GENUKI - genuki

Bedfordshire

Wiki - Bedfordshire

Parishes- Parishes In Bedfordshire

Poor Law Unions - Bedfordshire Poor Law Unions

Websites:

GENUKI - genuki

Surnames - bfhs

Guide to County collections: bedfordshire FHL Favorites - fhlfavorites/bedfordshire

Berkshire

Wiki: Berkshire

Parishes: Berkshire Parishes

List of alternative names for ancient parishes

Poor Law Unions: Berkshire Poor Law Unions

Archives and Libraries: Berkshire Record Offices and Archives

Websites: GENUKI: berksfhs

UK Genealogy: ukgenealogy

FHL Favorites - fhlfavorites

Bristol, Somerset

Collection: England, Bristol Parish Registers, 1538-1900

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Bristol Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Forest of Dean in Gloucestershire

Buckinghamshire

Wiki: Buckinghamshire

Parishes: Buckinghamshire Parishes

Poor Law Unions: Buckinghamshire Poor Law Unions

Workhouses and Poor Law Unions in England

Websites: Center for Buckinghamshire Studies - buckscc

Buckinghamshire Record Society – bucksinfo

Victorian Prisoners – Aylesbury – buckscc

FHL Favorites:fhlfavorites

Cambridgeshire

Wiki: Cambridgeshire

Parishes: Cambridgeshire Parishes

Poor Law Unions: Cambridgeshire Poor Law Unions

Workhouses and Poor Law Unions in England: authored by Peter Higginbotham:

GENUKI – Cambridgeshire

FHL Favorites -fhlfavorites

Websites:Cambridgeshire, England, Baptism Index 1801-1837 (free!!)

Another Baptism site (same Index) – cfhs.

Archives - calm.cambridgeshire

Cheshire

Collections:

England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 - Transcripts

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire Land Tax Assessments, 1778-1832 - Tax Assessments

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire Non-conformist Records, 1671-1900 - Non-conformist Records

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire Non-Conformist Church Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire Probate Records, 1492-1940

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire School Records, 1796-1950

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki - England Cheshire School Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire Workhouse Records, 1848-1967

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki - England Cheshire Workhouse Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1606-1900

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire Marriage Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire, Register of Electors, 1842-1900

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki - England Cheshire Register of Electors (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 - Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki - England Cheshire Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire Land Tax Assessments, 1778-1832

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire Non-conformist Records, 1671-1900

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire Non-Conformist Church Records (FamilySearch Historicla Records

England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire Probate Records, 1492-1940

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire School Records, 1796-1950

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire School Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire Workhouse Records, 1848-1967

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire Workhouse Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1606-1900

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire Marriage Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Cheshire, Register of Electors, 1842-1900

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Cheshire Register of Electors (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Wiki: Cheshire

Parishes: Cheshire Parishes

Online Parish Clerk (Project): Parish Clerk

Poor Law Unions: Cheshire Poor Law Unions

Workhouses and Poor Law Unions in England: authored by Peter Higginbotham: Poor Law Unions

FHL Favorites -fhlfavorites

Websites:

cheshirebmd

ukbmd

genealogylinks

CSC.liv.ac

Cleveland

Cleveland is in North East England. At one time there was a local authority administrative area known as 'County Cleveland'; this arose as a renaming of the previous area known as Teesside. The name 'Cleveland' is derived from 'Cleveland Hills' - an area of outstanding natural beauty. wikipedia

Towns – Billingham, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar, Stockton-on-Tees, Yarm.

Note: The county was abolished in 1996 with its boroughs becoming unitary authorities and the Tees re-established as the border between North Yorkshire and County Durham for ceremonial purposes only. wikitravel

Note: it does not appear as a county in Wiki…yet.

Cornwall

Wiki: Cornwall

Note: look at the Research Tools websites and links such as:

Online Parish Clerk – Parish Clerk

Parishes: Cornwall Parishes

Online Parish Clerk -Parish Clerk

Poor Law Unions: Cornwall Poor Law Unions

Workhouses and Poor Law Unions in England: authored by Peter Higginbotham: Workhouses

GENUKI - index

FHL Favorites -fhlfavorites

Cornwall Genealogy Database - lanset

Cornwall Surname Registry: Rootsweb.ancestry

Cumberland

Wiki -Cumberland

Parishes - Cumberland Parishes

Online Parish Clerks - Parish Clerks

Poor Law Unions: Cumberland Poor Law Unions

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - UK

Websites - Genealogy links

- UK genealogy

- Genealogy-of-uk

- Cumberland & Westmorland Archives – contains extracted Parish Registers: Archives

Cumbria – The county of Cumbria was formed 1 April 1974 from the counties of Cumberland, Westmoreland, part of northern Lancashire and part of the West Riding of Yorkshire.

Note: does not appear in Wiki; search the counties from which Cumbria was formed.

Derbyshire

Wiki - Derbyshire

Parishes - Derbyshire Parishes

Towns & Parishes - genuki

Poor Law Unions - Derbyshire Poor Law Unions

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - UK

Websites - Genealogy-links

- Genealogylinks

- Genealogyinengland

Devon

Wiki - Devon

Parishes - Devon Parishes

Online Parish Clerks - Parish Clerks

Online Parish Clerk - Clerk

- Genuki

Note: at this site there is a list of parishes with links to those parishes where there is an Online Parish Clerk, which will be helpful to your Patron, if all other resources fail to help him.

OPC coverage map - map

Poor Law Unions - Unions

FHL Favorites - Links

Websites - Genealogywise

- Genealogylinks

- Freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry

Dorset

Wiki - Dorset

Parishes - Dorset Parishes

Online Parish Clerk - Clerk

Genealogy Clerk

Poor Law Unions - Dorset Poor Law Unions

GENUKI - UK-genealogy

FHL Favorites - Links

Websites - Genealogylinks

- Homepages

- Thedorsetpage

- UKgenealogy

Durham

Collections:

England, Diocese of Durham Bishops' Transcripts ca., 1700-1900 - Transcripts

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Diocese of Durham Bishops' Transcripts, 1700-1900 (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Durham Diocese, Calendar of Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1594-1815 Calendar of Marriage Bonds

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1692-1900 - Marriage Bonds

Note: The Bishop of Durham's transcripts of marriage bonds and allegations for Allertonshire Peculiar, includes the following Yorkshire parishes: Birkby, Cowesby, Hutton Bonville, Leake, Nether Silton, North Otterington, Osmotherly and Thornton-le-Street.

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

List of abbreviations used in these records: records

Note: DMB = Durham Marriage Bonds

Wiki – Durham

Parishes - Durham Parishes

Poor Law Union - Durham Poor Law Union, Durham

Websites: $$$ Durham Records Online - Durham records on line

GENUKI - Joiner marriage index

FHL Favorites - Links

Essex

Wiki - Essex

Parishes - Essex Parishes

Online Parish Clerks - Clerks

Poor Law Unions - Essex Poor Law Unions

GENUKI - Nivek-systems

FHL Favorites - Links

Websites:

Essex Look-up Exchange - Freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.

- Genealogylinks

- UKisearch


Gloucestershire

Wiki - Gloucestershire

Parishes - Gloucestershire Parishes

A personal collection of parish information for Gloucestershire records:

Freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry

Poor Law Unions - Gloucestershire Poor Law Unions

GENUKI - UK

FHL Favorites - Links

Websites - Genealogylinks

- Gloucestershire

- UKisearch

- SOG

Greater London

…is a civil parish - the most local unit of government in England. A parish is governed by a parish council or parish meeting, which exercises a limited number of functions that would otherwise be delivered by the local authority. There are no civil parishes in Greater London and not all of the rest of England is parishes.

Wiki – not a specific page for Greater London but there are two sites on this page that will assist your Patron -Greater London

GENUKI – parishes -Homepages parishes

GENUKI – research map - map

Hampshire

Note: Hampshire, also known as Southamptonshire, is principally a maritime and agricultural county located on the south coast of England. The Isle of Wight was originally part of Hampshire but is now a county in its own right.

Wiki - Hampshire

Parishes - Hampshire Parishes

Poor Law Unions - Hampshire Poor Law Unions

Online Parish Clerk - Parish Clerk

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - UK HAM

- Churches and their records: records

Websites - Genealogylinks

- Ancestors-genealogy

- Genealogywise

- Homepages

- Genealogyinengland

- UKisearch

Herefordshire

Note: Herefordshire, or Hereford, is an inland county contiguous to Wales in England.

Wiki - Herefordshire

Parishes - Herefordshire Parishes

Poor Law Unions - Herefordshire Poor Law Unions

Workhouses in 1881 Census -links

Workhouses information - Herefordshire

GENUKI - Link

FHL Favorites - Links

Websites - genealogylinks

- sog

Hertfordshire

Wiki - Hertfordshire

Parishes - Hertfordshire Parishes

Online Parish Clerk - Ashdownhouse

Poor Law Unions -Hertfordshire Poor Law Unions

Hertfordshire-genealogy

Workhouses - Workhouses

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Joiner marriage index

Websites - Genealogy links

- Genealogy in england

- Genealogy-of-uk

Huntingdonshire

Wiki - Huntingdonshire

Parishes - Huntingdonshire Parishes

Poor Law Unions - Huntingdonshire Poor Law Unions

Workhouses - Cambridgeshire

1881 Census for Workhouses in Huntingdonshire - Census

GENUKI - Link

- Poorhouses and Poor Law Etc

Websites - ukgdl

- Note: this is a website for the town of Huntingdon Genuki

Isle of Wight

Note: The Isle of Wight was originally part of Hampshire but is now a county in its own right.

Wiki - Isle of Wight, Hampshire, England, Vital Records

Parishes - Genuki

Poor Law Unions - workhouses

FHL Favorites - Link scroll down or do Ctrl+F for Isle of Wight

GENUKI - Link

Websites: isle of wight

- Genealogy-of-uk

- genealogylinks

Isles of Scilly, a parish in Cornwall

The Isles of Scilly (pronounced /ˈsɪli/; Cornish: Syllan or Enesek Syllan) form an archipelago off the southwestern tip of the Cornish peninsula of Great Britain. The islands have had a unitary authority council since 1890, and are separate from the Cornwall unitary authority, but some services are combined with Cornwall and the islands are still part of the ceremonial county of Cornwall. This council is part of the UK and currently known as the Council of the Isles of Scilly.

Typically unitary authorities cover towns or cities which are large enough to function independently of county or other regional administration. Sometimes they consist of national sub-divisions which are distinguished from others in the same country by having no lower level of administration.

Wiki - Isles of Scilly, Cornwall

Online Parish Clerk - Clerk

- Freepages

Poor Law Union – “The Isles of Scilly appear to have been included as a parish within the Penzance Poor Law Union” as per Peter Higginbotham, Penzance, Cornwall. Workhouses List of towns in the various Isles - towns

GENUKI - Scilly

Websites - Link

- of Scilly Scilly

Kent

Wiki - Kent

Civil Districts - UKbmd

Parishes - Kent Parishes

Poor Law Unions - Kent Poor Law Unions

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - KENT

Websites - Freepages

Freepages

- Genealogylinks

Lancashire

Wiki - Lancashire

Parishes - Lancashire Parishes

Online Parish Clerks - Clerks

Poor Law Unions - Lancashire Poor Law Unions

Workhouses - Institutions

Online Parish Clerk - Clerk

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Here

Websites - Lancashire

Genealogylinks

Leicestershire

Wiki - Leicestershire

Parishes - Leicestershire Parishes

Online Parish Clerk - Clerk

Poor Law Unions - Unions

Workhouses - Leicester

- Poorhouses

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Link

Websites - UKgenealogy

- Genealogylinks

- Genealogyinengland

Lincolnshire

Wiki - Lincolnshire

Parishes - Lincolnshire Parishes

Online Parish Clerks - Clerk

Poor Law Unions - Unions

Workhouses - Poorhouse

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Link

Websites - Genealogy links

- UKgenealogy

- Genealogy-links

Parish-registers

London

The City of London is an inland administrative unit located in the south east of 'England.

Strictly speaking, London was not a county until the establishment of the London County Council (LCC) in 1889. As a result of the huge expansion in the 18th and 19th centuries into one of the largest cities in the world, this new administrative unit absorbed parts of several of the historical counties surrounding it: Middlesex, Kent, Surrey and Essex. Throughout these changes, the City of London, whose area was largely established in Roman times, maintained its independence, and these pages are focused on that area, often referred to as 'The City' or 'The Square Mile'.

Wiki - London

Parishes - London Parishes

Poor Law Unions - London Poor Law Unions

Workhouses - Blogs.ancestry.com

- workhouses.org

GENUKI - Homepages

- Homepages

Websites - London public library - Londonorigins.com

- Homepages

Middlesex

Note: For other places with same name, please refer to Middlesex (disambiguation)

Wiki - Middlesex

Parishes - Middlesex Parishes

Poor Law Unions -Middlesex Poor Law Unions

GENUKI - homepages

Websites - Angelfire.com

- sog.org.uk Middlesex

- Genealogylinks

Norfolk

England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 - Transcripts

Known Issues - England Norfolk Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records) Known Issues With This Collection.

Learn More - England Norfolk Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Wiki - Norfolk

Parishes - Norfolk Parishes

Poor Law Unions - Origins.org.uk

Workhouses - workhouses.org.uk

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Origins.org.uk

Websites - Archives

- Genealogylinks

- Familytreeforum.com

-ellett.org.uk

- Norfolkfhs.org

Northamptonshire

Wiki - Northamptonshire

Parishes - Northamptonshire Parishes

Poor Law Unions - Northamptonshire Poor Law Unions

Workhouses - Workhouses.org.uk

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Kellner.eclipse.co.uk

Websites – registration districts - UKbmd.org

- Genealogy-of-uk.com

- Genealogy-of-uk.com

- Kellner.eclipse.co

Northumberland

Wiki - Northumberland

Parishes - Northumberland Parishes

Poor Law Unions - Northumberland Poor Law Unions

Workhouses – you will have to Google for the workhouses and choose in this county as the URL for Peter Higginbotham’s site for Northumberland is not available for copying.

Workhouses.org.uk

Genuki.bpears.org

1861 Census - Freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com

FHL Favorites - Fhlfavorites.info

GENUKI - Genuki.bpears.org

Websites - Freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry

Freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com

Nottinghamshire

Wiki - Nottinghamshire

Parishes - Nottinghamshire Parishes

Online Parish Clerks - Freepages.history.rootsweb.ancestry.com

Poor Law Unions - Nottinghamshire Poor Law Unions

Workhouses -nottinghamshire.gov.uk

- Workhouses.org.uk

FHL Favorites - Fhlfavorites.info

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk

Websites - Genealogy-links.co.uk

Familyrelatives.com

Oxfordshire

Wiki - Oxfordshire

Parishes - Oxfordshire Parishes

Poor Law Unions - Oxfordshire Poor Law Unions

Workhouses – Oxford - Workhouses.org.uk

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Users.ox.ac.uk

Websites - Familyrelatives.com

- Searches.oxfordshirefhs.org

Rutland

Note: Rutland, or Rutlandshire, is an inland county, the smallest in 'England.

Wiki - Rutland

Parishes - Rutland Parishes

Poor Law Unions - Rutland Poor Law Unions

FHL Favorites - Fhlfavorites.info

GENUKI - Kellner.eclipse.co.uk

Websites - Genealogy-of-uk.com

- UKgenealogy.co.uk

- Search.ancestry.com

Shropshire

Wiki- Shropshire

Parishes - Shropshire Parishes

Poor Law Unions - Shropshire Poor Law Unions

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk

Websites - UKgdl.org.uk

Somerset

Wiki - Somerset

Parishes - Somerset Parishes

Online Parish Clerk - WSOM-opc.org.uk

Genealogy.about.com

Online Parish Clerks Genealogy - WSOM-opc.org

Poor Law Unions - Somerset Poor Law Unions

Workhouse - (enter the County name in the search field) - workhouses.org.uk

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Link

Websites - Genealogylinks.net

- UKgenealogy.co.uk

Staffordshire

Wiki - Staffordshire

Parishes - Staffordshire Parishes

Online Parish Clerk - Clerk

Poor Law Unions - Staffordshire Poor Law Unions

Workhouses - staffsnameindexes.org.uk

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Link

Websites - Genealogy-of-uk.com

- UKgenealogy.co.uk

- Genealogyinengland.com

- BMSGH.org

Suffolk

Wiki - Suffolk

Parishes - Suffolk Parishes

Poor Law Unions - Suffolk Poor Law Unions

NARA- free access to records regarding Suffolk Poor Law Unions

Workhouses -Historical Suffolk.com

- Photo box gallery.com

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Genuki.org

Websites - UK Genealogy.co.uk

- Genealogy links.net

- Genealogy-links.co.uk

Surrey

Wiki - Surrey

Parishes - Surrey Parishes

Guide to Parish Registers -to Parish Registers held at Surrey History Centre Jan 2011.pdf Registers

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Homepages.gold.ac.uk

Websites - Genealogy links.net

- UK Genealogy.co

- Genealogy in England.com

Sussex

Wiki: Sussex

Parishes - Sussex Parishes

Online Parish Clerks - Sussex-opc.org

Poor Law Records, settlements and removals - Records

Workhouses - Rootschat.com

Online Parish Clerks: Sussex-opc.org

FHL Favorites: Links

GENUKI - Homepages.gold.ac.

Websites':

The Weald - http://www.theweald.org/

Sussex Record Society - Sussex record society.org.uk

Includes links to a variety of sources for Sussex - - Barries genealogy.co

Genealogy in England.com

Look-up Exchange - Homepage.ntlworld.com

East Sussex

Parishes - East Sussex Parishes

Online Parish Clerks for East and West Sussex: Clerks

West Sussex

Parishes - West Sussex Parishes

Online Parish Clerks for East and West Sussex: Clerks

West Sussex Council - West Sussex.gov.uk

Warwickshire

Collection: Warwickshire Collection

Learn More at FamilySearch Wiki England Warwickshire Church of England Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Wiki - Warwickshire

Parishes - Warwickshire Parishes

Poor Law Unions - Warwickshire Poor Law Unions

Online Parish Clerk - Hunimex.com

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Here

Websites - Hunimex.com

- UK Genealogy.co

- Genealogy links.net

- Genealogy in England.com

- BMSGH.org

Westmorland

WESTMORLAND COUNTY: Sources Links Table

Description - wikipedia.org

Wiki - Westmorland

Parishes - Westmorland Parishes

Online Parish Clerks - Cumberland archives.co.uk

Poor Law Unions - Westmorland Poor Law Unions

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI -  genuki.org.uk

Websites - Rootsweb.ancestry.com

Wiltshire

Wiki - Wiltshire

Parishes - Wiltshire Parishes

Online Parish Clerks - Online Parish Clerks.org.uk

- Rootsweb.ancestry.com

Poor Law Unions - Wiltshire Poor Law Unions

FHL Favorites - Links

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk

Websites - Genealogy Links.net

- Genealogy in England.com

- UK Genealogy.co.uk

Worcestershire

Wiki - Worcestershire

Parishes - Worcestershire Parishes

FHL Favorites - Links/

GENUKI - Here

Websites - BMSGH.org

Yorkshire

Collection:

England, Yorkshire, Allertonshire, Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1667-1819

Yorkshire Collections

Learn More : England, Yorkshire, Allertonshire, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Wiki - Yorkshire

Parishes - Yorkshire Parishes

Online Parish Clerks - UK BMD.org.uk

Poor Law Unions - Yorkshire Poor Law Unions

Workhouses - Lineages.co.uk

GENUKI - Here

FHL Favorites  Links

Websites - Rootsweb.ancestry.com

- Genealogy Links.net/uk

- Genealogy Links.net

- UK Genealogy.co

- My-yorkshire-genealogy

- Genealogy in England.com

West Yorkshire

Note: Parishes located in the West Riding of Yorkshire are listed below, if you can't find the parish you are looking for, please check the list of parishes in the North Riding and East Riding, and for the city of York.

Wiki - [[[West Yorkshire]]

Parishes - West Riding of Yorkshire Parishes

GENUKI - UK BMD.org.uk North Yorkshire

Note: Parishes located in the North Riding of Yorkshire are listed below. If you can't find the parish you are looking for, please check the list of parishes in the West and East Ridings, and for the city of York.

Parishes - North Riding of Yorkshire Parishes

GENUKI - UKBMD.org.uk

Websites: North Yorks.gov

- Look-up Exchange - Redmire.net

East Riding of Yorkshire

FHL Favorites - Links

Wiki: Yorkshire

Parishes: Yorkshire Parishes A-I

Yorkshire Parishes K-R

Yorkshire Parishes S-Y

Yorkshire Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts - UKBMD.org.uk

GENUKI - [http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/YKS/ Link}

Websites: - Yorkshire BMD - Yorkshirebmd.org.uk

- Astrogen.karoo.net

Six metropolitan counties and their metropolitan districts

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/eng/Modern “GENUKI is organized on the basis of historic counties. This page associates more modern counties and county boroughs with the GENUKI pages which cover those areas. See also: Administrative Areas of England

Metropolitan county Metropolitan boroughs
Greater Manchester City of Manchester, City of Salford, Bolton, Bury, Oldham, Rochdale, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan

The Diocese of Manchester is a Church of England diocese in the north of England. Based in the city of Manchester the diocese covers much of the county of Greater Manchester and small areas of the counties of Lancashire and Cheshire and is a constituent of the Province of York

GENUKI - http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LAN/Manchester/

Churches/Parishes within 3 miles of Manchester - http://www.genuki.org.uk/cgi-bin/churches?CCC=LAN,GR=SJ838984,DIST=3,PLACE=Manchester

 Merseyside City of Liverpool, Knowsley, Sefton, St Helens, Wirral

GENUKI - See Cheshire, Lancashire http://www.ukbmd.org.uk/genuki/chs/

Note: Merseyside does not appear in Wiki, except in relation to other locations.

Merseyside is metropolitan county in northwestern England, on both banks of the lower reaches of the River Mersey estuary and centred on the Liverpool. It comprises five metropolitan boroughs: Knowsley, St. Helens, Sefton, Wirral, and the Liverpool. The areas to the north of the Mersey, including Liverpool, form part of the historic county of Lancashire, while the borough of Wirral to the south belongs to the historic county of Cheshire. From 1974 to 1986 Merseyside was an unit. In 1986 the metropolitan county lost its administrative powers, and its constituent boroughs became autonomous administrative units, or unitary authorities.

South Yorkshire City of Sheffield, Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham

It consists of four metropolitan boroughs: Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham, and City of Sheffield. South Yorkshire was created on 1 April 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972.

Lying on the east side of the Pennines, South Yorkshire is landlocked, and borders Derbyshire (to the south-west), West Yorkshire (to the northwest), North Yorkshire (to the north), the East Riding of Yorkshire (to the northeast), Lincolnshire (to the east) and Nottinghamshire (to the southeast). The Sheffield Urban Area is the ninth most populous conurbation in the UK, and dominates the western half of South Yorkshire with over half of the county's population living within it.

South Yorkshire County Council was abolished in 1986, and so its districts (the metropolitan boroughs) are now effectively unitary authority areas; however, the metropolitan county, which is some 1,552 square kilometres (599 sq mi)continues to exist in law and as a geographic frame of reference] As a ceremonial county, South Yorkshire has a Lord Lieutenant and a High Sheriff.

South Yorkshire is an amalgamation of 32 former local government districts from the former administrative counties of Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, the West Riding of Yorkshire, and four independent county boroughs.

Note: South Yorkshire does not appear in Wiki, except in relation to other locations.

FHL Favorites - http://fhlfavorites.info/Links/British/England/southyorkshire.htm%20

FHL guide to sources in South Yorkshire

GENUKI - http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/Modern.html

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/YKS/

Tyne and Wear City of Newcastle upon Tyne, City of Sunderland, Gateshead, South Tyneside, North Tyneside

Note: Tyne and Wear ( /ˌtaɪn ənd ˈwɪər/) is a metropolitan county in North East England around the mouths of the Rivers Tyne and Wear. It came into existence as a metropolitan county in 1974 after the passage of the Local Government Act 1972. It consists of the five metropolitan boroughs of South Tyneside, North Tyneside, City of Newcastle upon Tyne, Gateshead and the City of Sunderland.

North Tyneside and Newcastle upon Tyne had previously existed within the historic county of Northumberland, whereas South Tyneside, Gateshead and Sunderland were all previously within the borders of County Durham, with the River Tyne forming the border of the two counties.

West Midlands City of Birmingham, City of Coventry, City of Wolverhampton, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall

Wiki – only the following screen for West Midlands appears in Wiki - [West Midlands BMD]]

FHL Favorites - http://www.fhlfavorites.com/bookmark.htm

Websites - http://www.westmidlandsbmd.org.uk/

 West Yorkshire City of Leeds, City of Bradford, City of Wakefield, Calderdale, Kirklees

 

More Quick Links

Quick Research Links - Ireland

Quick Research Links - Scotland

Quick Research Links -The Channel Islands

Quick Research Links - Wales

Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:




 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 17:26.
  • This page has been accessed 23,271 times.