SlovakiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Slovakia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
The Slovak Republic is a sovereign state in Central Europe. It has a population of over five million and an area of about 49,000 square kilometres (19,000 sq mi). Slovakia is bordered by the Czech Republic and Austria to the west, Poland to the north, Ukraine to the east and Hungary to the south. The largest city is the capital, Bratislava.
Getting started with Slovak researchWelcome to the Slovakia page!
FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Slovakia Page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Slovak records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. The Slovakia Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!
- Accessing Slovak Vital Records
- Beginning Slovak Research
- Determining a Place of Origin in Slovakia
- Finding Records of Your Slovak Ancestors
- Jakubany, Slovakia Church Records 1772-2004+
- Letter Writing Guide
- Reference Aids Overview at the Family History Library
- Word List
Slovakia is a country in Central Europe bordering the Czech Republic and Austria to the west, Poland to the north, Ukraine to the east and Hungary to the south. To read more about Slovakia see The World Factbookand Wikipedia.
There were 20 counties (county = stolica/župa) of the Kingdom of Hungary situated completely or partly in present-day Slovakia. After the creation of Czechoslovakia, they continued to exist till 1922. Read more...
Since 2002, Slovakia is divided into 8 autonomous regions (region = kraj):
Each region consists of districts (district = okres). There are currently 79 districts in Slovakia.
Did you know?
Slovakia became an independent state on January 1, 1993 when Czechoslovakia peacefully split into the Czech Republic and Slovakia. The country underwent a nonviolent "velvet divorce" into its two national components, Slovakia and the Czech Republic. Slovakia joined both NATO and the EU in the spring of 2004 and the euro zone on 1 January 2009. The area had been part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire until the end of the first world war when, in October 1918, the Czech lands of Austria (Bohemia, Moravia, and Austrian Silesia) joined with the Slovak and Ruthenian (Ukrainian) counties of Hungary to create the sovereign Republic of Czechoslovakia. The Ruthenian region had been taken into Ukraine in 1945.
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
- This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 03:45.
- This page has been accessed 46,391 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page