Solomon IslandsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Pacific Gotoarrow.png Solomon Islands

Guide to Solomon Islands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Solomon Islands map.png
News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Contents

Introduction

Solomon Islands fishermen by WWII wreck.jpg
The Solomon Islands is a scattered archipelago of mountainous islands and low lying coral atolls in the South Pacific. They lie east of Papua New Guinea and northeast of Australia. There are over a thousand islands in this archipelago, but not all are inhabited. Ontong Java, Rennel, and Santa Cruz Islands are part of the group, but lie further to the east. The capital, Honiara, is on Guadalcanal Island, which also has the highest Mountain. Most Solomon Islanders are Melanesian, with some Polynesians, Tuvaluans, and Chinese immigrants. The Islanders are gardeners. Cattle have been introduced to supplement the copra industry.


Historical Background

1500s Mendana sails from Peru searching for the treasures of King Solomon, lands on the island.
1558 Mendana’s pilot, Hernan jGalleto, names Guadalcanal after his birthplace.
1589 Mendana starts a colony on his second voyage, which does not succeed.
1767 Frenchman Pilip Carteret arrives on the Swallow.
1893 The southern Solomon Islands become a British protectorate.
1898-1899 Other parts become a British protectorate.
1900 German rights to some of the northern islands are ceded to the British.
1944 Guadalcanal and New Georgia are fought over in WWII.
1976 Self government is granted.
1978 Full independence is granted.

2008 There are 231 LDS Church members in the Solomon Islands.

Pacific Island Guide to Family History Research

Pacific Island Guide to Family History Research

Table of Pacific Island Names

Table of Pacific Island Names

Jurisdictions

Solomon Islands have 9 provinces and 1 capital territory*.

  • Central
  • Choiseul
  • Guadalcanal
  • Honiara*
  • Isabel
  • Makira
  • Malaita
  • Rennell and Bellona
  • Temotu
  • Western


Research Tools



Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

Pacific Island Guide


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 03:53.
  • This page has been accessed 5,497 times.