South AfricaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Africa Gotoarrow.png South_Africa

Guide to South Africa ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)
Find us on
Facebook

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community


IMG 1632.JPG

Getting Started with South Africa Research

New! Join a Genealogy Research Community for South Africa on

Facebook or Skype

Jurisdictions in South Africa

South Africa is divided into 9 provinces.


Wikipedia provides general information about each province

Research Tools

South Africa Wills

177 Wills listed in the On-Line Catalogue for the National Archives in London, where the "Cape of Good Hope" is shown as place of residence or former residence.  Wills dated from 1713 to 1857. www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documentsonline ($).

Nasionale Pers are in the planning stages of digitising their Media (Newspapers and other publications printed by them. Includes Die Burger, Volksblad, Natal Witness, Huisgenoot etc.) A media statement will be released when more information is known.

Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:

History of South Africa

Listen to the tutorial at FamilySearch Learning Center on"The South African Empire" by Dr. Anne Samson.

History of South Africa

South African History Online

History of South Africa from the early European Settlement through the 1990s.

1820 British Settlers in South Africa

Jewish Records

(Your text or images here)

Useful Websites

More web sites

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 04:54.
  • This page has been accessed 58,145 times.