South Korea GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from South Korea)

Asia go to South Korea

Guide to South Korea, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Seoul Banpo bridge.jpg
Flag of South Korea
South Korea emblem
South Korea location


South Korea occupies the southern portion of the Korean Peninsula, which extends some 1,100 km (680 mi) from the Asian mainland. This mountainous peninsula is flanked by the Yellow Sea to the west, and Sea of Japan (East Sea) to the east. Its southern tip lies on the Korea Strait and the East China Sea.

South Korea's terrain is mostly mountainous, most of which is not arable. Lowlands, located primarily in the west and southeast, make up only 30% of the total land area.

South Korea can be divided into four general regions: an eastern region of high mountain ranges and narrow coastal plains; a western region of broad coastal plains, river basins, and rolling hills; a southwestern region of mountains and valleys; and a southeastern region dominated by the broad basin of the Nakdong River.

Research Tools

Downtown Seoul.jpg
While the two Korea's have an outstanding history of genealogical record keeping, the division into two countries has made researching these records extremely difficult. An excellent treatise on Korean Genealogy can be found through the following link: Korean records



Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 September 2015, at 22:17.
  • This page has been accessed 13,537 times.