SudanEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Africa Gotoarrow.png Sudan

Guide to Sudan ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Sudan is located in North East Africa. It is bound by Egypt to the north, Libya to the northwest, Chad to the west, the Central African Republic to the southwest, Democratic Republic of the Congo (Zaire) to the south, Uganda and Kenya to the southeast, Ethiopia and Eritrea to the east and the Red Sea to the northeast.

Getting started with Sudan research

Jurisdictions

Sudan is made up of 25 states (wilayat, singular - wilayah).

  • A'ali an Nil (Upper Nile)
  • Al Bahr al Ahmar (Red Sea)
  • Al Buhayrat (Lakes)
  • Al Jazirah (El Gezira)
  • Al Khartum (Khartoum)
  • Al Qadarif (Gedaref)
  • Al Wahdah (Unity)
  • An Nil al Abyad (White Nile)
  • An Nil al Azraq (Blue Nile)
  • Ash Shamaliyah (Northern)
  • Bahr al Jabal (Bahr al Jabal)
  • Gharb al Istiwa'iyah (Western Equatoria)
  • Gharb Bahr al Ghazal (Western Bahr al Ghazal)
  • Gharb Darfur (Western Darfur)
  • Janub Darfur (Southern Darfur)
  • Janub Kurdufan (Southern Kordofan)
  • Junqali (Jonglei)
  • Kassala (Kassala)
  • Nahr an Nil (Nile)
  • Shamal Bahr al Ghazal (Northern Bahr al Ghazal)
  • Shamal Darfur (Northern Darfur)
  • Shamal Kurdufan (Northern Kordofan)
  • Sharq al Istiwa'iyah (Eastern Equatoria)
  • Sinnar (Sinnar)
  • Warab (Warab)

 Research Tools

Featured Content

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 04:54.
  • This page has been accessed 2,473 times.