TaiwanEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Taiwan ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
The main island of Taiwan, also known as Formosa [from Portuguese (Ilha) Formosa, meaning "beautiful (island)"], is located in East Asia off the coast of mainland China, southwest of the main islands of Japan but directly west of the end of Japan's Ryukyu Islands, and north-northwest of the Philippines. It is bound to the east by the Pacific Ocean, to the south by the South China Sea and the Luzon Strait, to the west by the Taiwan Strait and to the north by the East China Sea. The island is 394 kilometers (245 miles) long and 144 kilometers (89 miles) wide and consists of steep mountains covered by tropical and subtropical vegetation.
Getting started with Taiwan research
(Your text or images here.)
Jurisdictions in Taiwan
Includes main island of Taiwan plus smaller islands nearby and off coast of China's Fujian Province. Taiwan is divided into 18 counties (hsien, singular and plural), 5 municipalities (shih, singular and plural), and 2 special municipalities (chuan-shih, singular and plural)
Note: Taiwan uses a variety of romanization systems; while a modified Wade-Giles system still dominates, the city of Taipei has adopted a Pinyin romanization for street and place names within its boundaries; other local authorities use different romanization systems; names for administrative divisions that follow are taken from the Taiwan Yearbook 2007 published by the Government Information Office in Taipei.
- Taiwan GenWeb
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)
- This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 20:13.
- This page has been accessed 4,258 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page