Texas CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  U.S. Census  go to  Texas  go to  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Download a digital image of the page where each ancestor's name appears. Identify where you found it.
  • Transcribe the entire household onto the appropriate year's census worksheet, making note of important information like number of years married, age at first marriage, number of children born to this mother, year of immigration, etc. Information gathered differs for each census.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.
  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, see Actual Census Dates.
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today

Online Texas indexes and images

1880-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Texas 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - - - - Link -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link -
Link
1930 indexes Link - Link  Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1890 indexes - - Link Link  - Link Link Link Link -
images - - - Link  - Link Link Link - -
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1850-1870

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Texas 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
partial 1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1860 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
partial 1850 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

Before 1850

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Texas 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1835 Colonial indexes - - Link  - - - - - - -
images - - Tran-
script
- - - - - - -
partial 1830 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
images AR
Link
AR
Link
- - - AR
Link
AR
Link
AR
Link
- -
partial 1820 indexes AR
Link
- - - - AR
Link
AR
Link
AR
Link
- -
images - - - - - - - - - -
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 and Soundex 1870              
1930 1900 and Soundex 1860  
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex 1850  
     


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624 and Soundex T1277 1870 M593          
1930 T626 1900 T623 and Soundex T1073 1860 M653
1920 T625 and Soundex M1589 1890 fragments M407 and index M496 1850 M432  
  1880 T9   Soundex T773    

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Texas, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Texas

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1890 Veterans Link - Link Link Link
1880 Defective Link - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality Link - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality Link - Link Link Link
1860 Slave owner - Link[8] Link Link Link
1860 Mortality Link - Link Link Link
1850 Slave owner Link Link[8] Link Link Link
1850 Mortality Link - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Texas, click here.

State, republic, and colonial censuses

Censuses were taken in Texas in different years than the federal censuses. These censuses may have different data compared to federal censuses. Check these censuses for more information on a family.

Texas state, republic, and colonial censuses[9][10]
Exact Date Population Schedules
 There were no state censues taken after statehood, but several mission/rancho censuses were taken under the Spanish and Mexican governments.  SEE BELOW
1858  Austin County.
1841-1849  In Texas Census Records 1841-1849.[5] 
1830-1839  In Texas 1830 - 1839 [5]
1820-1829  In Texas 1820 - 1829 [5]
1819  La Espada Mission, Norte, San Juan Capistrano Mission, Valero.
1818  Missions of San Francisco de la Espada, San Jose del Aguayo, and San Juan Capistrano.
1817  Missions of San Francisco de la Espada, San Jose, and San Juan Capistrano; and San Fernando de Bexar.
1815  Missions of La Purisima Concepcion, San Francisco de la Espada, San Jose, and San Juan Capistrano.
1811  La Bahia del Espiritu Santo.
1810  La Bahia del Espiritu Santo and San Fernando de Bexar.
1809  Nacogdoches, San Fernando de Bexar, San Juan Capistrano Mission, Villa de San Marcos de Neve, and Villa de Trinidad.
1808  San Antonio Valero.
1807  Orcoquisac and San Carlos de Parras.
1806  Nacogdoches and Valero Mission.
1805  Concepcion Mission, Nacogdoches, and San Jose Mission.
1804  MIssions of Capistrano, Espada, Espiritu Santo, Refugio, Rosario, and Valero; and La Bahia, Nacogdoches, Presidio de Bexar, San Antonio de Bexar, and San Fernando.
1803  Espada Mission, Nacogdoches, Presidio of San Antonio de Bexar, San Antonio de Bexar, and San Fernando.
1799  Conception Mission, Nacogdoches, and San Jose Mission.
1798  Missions of Capistrano, Conception, San Jose, and Valero; and Nacogdoches.
1797  Missions of Capistrano, Espada, San Jose, and Valero; and Nacogdoches, Presidio de San Antonio de Bexar, and San Fernando.
1796  Espada Mission, Nacogdoches, San Fernando de Austria, and Valero Mission.
1795  Missions of Capistrano, Espada, and Valero; and Nacogdoches and San Fernando de Austria.
1794  Missions of Capistrano, Espada, San Jose, and Valero; and Nacogdoches.
1793  Missions of Capistrano, Concepcion, Espada, and San Jose; and Nacogdoches and San Fernando de Austria.
1792  Missions of Capistrano, Concepcion, Espada, San Jose, and Valero; and Nacogdoches and San Fernando de Austria.
1790  Bexar, Espada Mission, La Bahia, and San Jose Mission.
1782  San Fernando de Bexar.
1767  Webb County: Laredo.
1692  El Paso County: El Paso.
1684  El Paso County: El Paso.
  • 1854-1855 school censuses were taken in 1854 and 1855 by some counties. The original records are at the Texas State Archives. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of some school censuses.
  • 1840-1849 Jackson, Ronald Vern, et al. Texas, 1840-49. North Salt Lake, Utah: Accelerated Indexing Systems International, 1981. FHL book 976.4 X2j 1840-1849
  • 1830-1839 Jackson, Ronald Vern. Texas, 1830-1839, Census Index. North Salt Lake, Utah: Accelerated Indexing Systems International, 1981. FHL book 976.4 X2j 1830-1839
  • 1830 White, Gifford E. 1830 Citizens of Texas. Austin, Texas: Eakin Press, 1983. FHL book 976.4 X2wh and FHL fiche 6051297
  • 1829-1836 Mullins, Marion D. The First Census of Texas, 1829-1836: To Which are Added Texas Citizenship Lists, 1821-1845, and Other Early Records of the Republic of Texas. Washington, DC: National Genealogical Society, 1962. FHL book 976.4 X2mm and FHL film 844966 item 1
  • Mission censuses Available mission censuses have been translated and are available on microfilm at the University of Texas, Institute of Texas Cultures, San Antonio, Texas.

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Texas censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.00 5.01 5.02 5.03 5.04 5.05 5.06 5.07 5.08 5.09 5.10 5.11 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. 8.0 8.1 HeritageQuest has slave owner schedule images only.
  9. Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992), 105.
  10. Henry J. Dubester, State Censuses: An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States (Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1948), 60, 72.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2012, at 22:27.
  • This page has been accessed 30,037 times.