TurkmenistanEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Asia Gotoarrow.png Turkmenistan

Guide to Turkmenistan ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Turkmenistan is located in Central Asia, bordering the Caspian Sea, between Iran and Kazakhstan. Eastern Turkmenistan for centuries formed part of the Persian province of Khurasan; in medieval times Merv (today known as Mary) was one of the great cities of the Islamic world and an important stop on the Silk Road. Annexed by Russia between 1865 and 1885, Turkmenistan became a Soviet republic in 1924. It achieved independence upon the dissolution of the USSR in 1991.

Contents

Getting started with Turkmenistan research

(Your text or images here.)

Jurisdictions in Turkmenistan

(Your text or images here)

Research Tools

(Your text or images here)

  • (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
  • (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)

Featured Content

(Your text or images here)

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 20:15.
  • This page has been accessed 2,665 times.