Turks and Caicos Islands GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Turks and Caicos Islands)

United Kingdom Gotoarrow.png Caribbean Gotoarrow.png Turks and Caicos Islands

Guide to Turks and Caicos Islands ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Beginning Research

Find us on

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community

National Museum, on Fleet Street, Cockburn Town, on Grand Turk Island.
Turks and Caicos Islands are an overseas territory of the United Kingdom. Two groups of islands in the southeast part of the Bahamas Islands in the North Atlantic Ocean north of Hispaniola Island. See the CIA World Factbook at https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/tk.html.


Bermuda, Bahamas, and Jamaica (all British) have variously exerted control over Turks and Caicos Islands. Bermuda was given responsibility for the Turks and Caicos Islands in 1681, but pirates were more often in charge from 1690-1720. Spain and France seized control in 1706, but by 1710 Bermuda was back in charge. In 1766 the Bahamas were put in charge, but elements loyal to Bermuda resisted in general, and specifically to new taxes and other legal controls in 1773 and 1774. American United Empire Loyalists streamed into the islands in the 1780s but had left by 1820. France took over in 1783. Then Bermuda took control in 1784. The Bahamas were again in charge by 1806. Bermuda abandoned their claims in 1815, and the Bahamas took over in 1819. In 1848 Jamaica began governing the Turks and Caicos Islands until Jamaican independence in 1962, when the islands became a British Crown Colony. In 1965 Turks and Caicos Islands were put in charge of the Bahamas. In 1973 the Bahamas gained their independence and the Turks and Caicos Islands received their own governor and have since remained a British Overseas Territory (BOT).[1]

Research Tools

Turks and Caicos Islands Gengealogical Resources

Nettie Lee Benson Latin America Collection

  • (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
  • (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)

Wiki Volunteers Wanted

To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:


  1. History of the Turks and Caicos Islands in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia (accessed 15 October 2015).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 October 2015, at 16:46.
  • This page has been accessed 5,214 times.