United States Census AvailabilityEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  U.S. Census  Gotoarrow.png  Availability

Contents

Online

Main article: United States Census Online


Images of almost all federal censuses population schedules available at the National Archives are also now available online. Images of many federal non-population schedules are also available online. For links to the Internet version of federal censuses see the blue (population schedules) and orange (non-population schedules) tables on the Wiki census page for each state.

Only a few state, territorial, and colonial censuses are found on the Internet.

On Microfilm

Federal census records on microfilm are available from the Family History Library and Family History Centers],https://www.familysearch.org/locations and Regional Branches of U.S. National Archives.

Many college and public libraries and archives also have microfilm copies of their state's federal census records.

National Archives Rentals

Censuses and other records that were microfilmed by the National Archives can be rented through them at: http://www.archives.gov/research/order/renting-microfilm.html

Originals

The National Archives and Records Administration has all surviving federal copies of United States federal census population schedules, and most non-population schedules. They do not grant access to originals except for special situations such as errors on microfilm copies.

Rarely, state or county draft copies of federal censuses can be found at state or county archives. States and counties are more likely to have non-population schedules than population schedules drafts.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 July 2014, at 07:34.
  • This page has been accessed 4,112 times.