Uruguay GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Uruguay ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Montevideo, founded by the Spanish in 1726 as a military stronghold, soon took advantage of its natural harbor to become an important commercial center. Claimed by Argentina but annexed by Brazil in 1821, Uruguay declared its independence four years later and secured its freedom in 1828 after a three-year struggle.
The administrations of President Jose Batlle in the early 20th century established widespread political, social, and economic reforms that established a statist tradition. A violent Marxist urban guerrilla movement named the Tupamaros, launched in the late 1960s, led Uruguay's president to cede control of the government to the military in 1973. By yearend, the rebels had been crushed, but the military continued to expand its hold over the government. Civilian rule was not restored until 1985.
In 2004, the left-of-center Frente Amplio Coalition won national elections that effectively ended 170 years of political control previously held by the Colorado and Blanco parties. Uruguay's political and labor conditions are among the freest on the continent.
Si usted entiende español
Le invitamos a buscar información en español en la página de Uruguay en el wiki de FamilySearch español. También le invitamos a compartir información útil allí. Véase el enlace en la parte inferior de la página.
Uruguay is divided into 19 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento):
- See FamilySearch Tutorials on Latin American Research.
- Listing of all records collections for Uruguay available on FamilySearch.org
Wiki articles describing online collections ar found at:
- Uruguay Baptisms (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Uruguay Civil Registration (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Uruguay Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Did you know?
Help with the Uruguay Wiki pages
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need willing volunteers. You can help:
- Expand country articles
- Check links on pages
- ...and more
- This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 17:22.
- This page has been accessed 13,473 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More