Wales Missing Census RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Wales Gotoarrow.png Missing Census Records

Census records for some places have been lost or destroyed. This article lists those missing census records and may identify possible census substitutes.

Contents

The 1841 Census

Place/Township
Parish
County
Population
Census Substitute
Abenbury Fawr Wrexham Denbighshire    
Abenbury Fechan Wrexham Flintshire    
Aberthin Llanblethian Glamorgan    
Acton Wrexham Denbighshire    
Allington Gresford Denbighshire    
Alltgymbyd Llanarmon yn Iâl Denbighshire    
Bangor is y Coed Bangor is y Coed Flintshire    
Belan Ruabon Denbighshire    
Banhadlen Llanarmon yn Iâl Denbighshire    
Bersham Wrexham Denbighshire    
Bieston Wrexham Denbighshire    
Blaenau Nantglyn Denbighshire    
Bodidris Llanarmon yn Iâl Denbighshire    
Bodigre'r Abbot Llanarmon yn Iâl Denbighshire    
Bodigre'r Iarl Llanarmon yn Iâl Denbighshire    
Bodylltyn Ruabon Denbighshire    
Bodlywydd Llanelidan Denbighshire    
Borras Hwfa Wrexham Denbighshire    
Borras Riffri Gresford Denbighshire    
Broughton Wrexham Denbighshire    
Brymbo Wrexham Denbighshire    
Bryncyme Llanelidan Denbighshire    
Burton Gresford Denbighshire    
Caca Dutton Holt Denbighshire    
Caergwrle Hope Flintshire    
Coed Cristionydd Ruabon Denbighshire    
Cristionydd Cynrig/Kenrick Ruabon Denbighshire    
Chwileiriog Llanarmon yn Iâl Denbighshire    
Clocaenog Clocaenog Denbighshire    
Cefn Coed y Cymmer Vaynor (Y Faenor) Breconshire    
Clocaenog Isa Clocaenog Denbighshire    
Clocaenog Ucha Clocaenog Denbighshire    
Cowbridge Cowbridge Glamorgan    
Creigiog is Glan Llanarmon yn Iâl Denbighshire    
Creigiog uwch Glan Llanarmon yn Iâl Denbighshire    
Cyfnant Llanarmon yn Iâl Denbighshire    
Cymau Hope Flintshire    
Cwmllwm Nantglyn Denbighshire    
Derwen Derwen Denbighshire    
Derwen Dyfanedd Derwen Denbighshire    
Derwen Llanerch Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd Denbighshire    
Derwen Ysgeifiog Derwen Denbighshire    
Dowlais
or Merthyr Tydfil (Upper)
Merthyr Tydfil Glamorgan
Dowlais Cottage Leases
Dutton Diffeth Holt Denbighshire    
Dutton y Bran Holt Denbighshire    
Dyffrin Vaynor (Y Faenor) Brecon    
Dinhinlle Isaf Ruabon Denbighshire    
Dinhinlle Uchaf Ruabon Denbighshire    
Erbistock Erbistock Denbighshire    
Erbistock Erbistock Flintshire    
Erlas Gresford Denbighshire    
Eryrys Llanarmon yn Iâl Denbighshire    
Erddig Gresford Denbighshire    
Esclusham Above Wrexham Denbighshire    
Esclusham Below Wrexham Denbighshire    
Estyn Hope Flintshire    
Euarth Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd Denbighshire    
Eyton Bangor is y Coed Denbighshire    
Faynol Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd Denbighshire    
Garthgynan Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd Denbighshire    
Garthneuoedd Llanelidan Denbighshire    
Gelli Vaynor (Y Faenor) Breconshire    
Gelligynan Llanarmon yn Iâl Denbighshire    
Gorton Wrexham Denbighshire    
Gresford Gresford Denbighshire    
Gwaunyffynnon Llanarmon yn Iâl Denbighshire    
Gwersyllt Gresford Denbighshire    
Gwmllwm Nantglyn Denbighshire    
Hafod Ruabon Denbighshire    
Hendre Nantglyn Denbighshire    
Holt Holt Denbighshire    
Isycoed Holt Denbighshire    
Llanarmon yn Iâl Llanarmon yn Iâl Denbighshire    
Llay (Llai) Gresford Denbighshire    
Marchwiel Marchwiel Denbighshire    
Marford & Hoseley Gresford Flintshire    
Minera Wrexham Denbighshire    
Morton Above Ruabon Denbighshire    
Morton Anglicorum Ruabon Denbighshire    
Morton Below Ruabon Denbighshire    
Nantclwyd Llanelidan Denbighshire    
Nantglyn Nantglyn Denbighshire    
Pickhill Bangor is y Coed Denbighshire    
Plas Nantglyn Denbighshire    
Ruabon Ruabon Denbighshire    
Rhanberfedd Hope Flintshire    
Rhos y Medre Ruabon Denbighshire    
Rhyddallt Ruabon Denbighshire    
Ridley Holt Denbighshire    
Royton Bangor is y Coed Denbighshire    
Sesswick Bangor is y Coed Denbighshire    
Shordley Hope Flintshire    
Sontley Marchwiel Denbighshire    
Stansty Wrexham Denbighshire    
Sutton Holt Denbighshire    
Threapwood Threapwood Flintshire    
Trehelig Castle Caereinion Montgomeryshire    
Treinghill Llanblethian Glamorgan    
Treuddyn Mold Flintshire    
Uwch y Mynydd Isaf Hope Flintshire    
Uwch y Mynydd Uchaf Hope Flintshire    
Vaynor (Y Faenor) Vaynor (Y Faenor) Breconshire    
Hendre, Waun Nantglyn Denbighshire    
Worthenbury Worthenbury Flintshire

Wrexham *** Wrexham Denbighshire    
Wrexham Abbot *** Wrexham Denbighshire    
Wrexham Regis *** Wrexham Denbighshire    

 *** Two of the missing books containing the Wrexham town census have been found by the Clwyd Family History Society and are available for purchase on CD from the society. They are not available elsewhere.

The 1851 Census

Place/Township
Parish
County
Population
Census Substitute
         

The 1861 Census

Place/Township
Parish
County
Population
Census Substitute
Aberporth Llanannerch Aberporth Cardiganshire 454 (all of Aberporth parish)  
Aberporth Rectorial Aberporth Cardiganshire 454 (all of Aberporth parish)  
Barog Llanfair Talhaearn Denbighshire    
Nantmor Beddgelert Merionethshire    
Beniarth Betws yn Rhos Denbighshire    
Berain Llanefydd Denbighshire    
Berwyn Caron ys Clawdd Cardiganshire    
Bettws Bettws Monmouthshire    
Betws Abergele
(Betws Yn Rhos)
Betws Abergele
(Betws Yn Rhos)
Denbighshire    
Blackmill Llandyfodog Glamorgan    
Blaen Caron Caron ys Clawdd Cardiganshire    
Bodlyman Betws yn Rhos Denbighshire    
Bodynwyddog Bryneglwys Denbighshire    
Bodysgaw Llannefydd Denbighshire    
Brisgill Llannefydd Denbighshire    
Broncastellan Llanbadarn Fawr Cardiganshire    
Bryncume Llanelidan Denbighshire    
Bryneaubychain Llannefydd Denbighshire    
Bryneglwys Bryneglwys Denbighshire    
Brynffanigl Abergele Denbighshire    
Bryntangor Bryneglwys Denbighshire    
Caron ys Clawdd Caron ys Clawdd Cardiganshire    
Carwedfynydd Llanefydd Denbighshire    
Cefnpost Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr Merionethshire    
Cefn Cymer Llangwm Denbighshire    
Cefn Cilcain Flintshire    
Cellan Cellan Cardiganshire    
Cilcen Betws yn Rhos Denbighshire    
Cilcain Cilcain Flintshire    
Clarch Llanbadarn Fawr Cardiganshire    
Coedmore Pencarreg Carmarthenshire    
Croes and Berwyn Caron ys Clawdd Cardiganshire    
Crogen Wladus Llangollen Denbighshire    
Cymo Llantysilio Denbighshire    
Cynnant Llanfair Talhaearn Denbighshire    
Cysilog Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr Denbighshire    
Cysylltau Llangollen Denbighshire    
Denbigh Denbigh Denbighshire    
Denio Denio Caernarfonshire    
Derwen Derwen Denbighshire    
Derwen Dyfanedd Derwen Denbighshire    
Derwen Llannerch Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd Denbighshire    
Derwen Ysgeifiog Derwen Denbighshire    
Dinas Cadfel Llannefydd Denbighshire    
Dinorben St George Denbighshire    
Disgarth Llamgwm Denbighshire    
Dyserth Dyserth Flintshire    
Efenechtyd Efenechtyd Denbighshire    
Euarth Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd Denbighshire    
Faynol Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd Denbighshire    
Garthgogo Abergele Denbighshire    
Garthgyfannedd Llanrwst Denbighshire    
Garthneuoedd Llanelidan Denbighshire    
Glyn Fechan Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog Denbighshire    
Gwythina Bryneglwys Denbighshire    
Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr Denbighshire    
Llanddulas Llanddulas Denbighshire    
Llandynnan Llantysilio Denbighshire    
Llannefydd Llannefydd Denbighshire    
Llanelidan Llanelidan Denbighshire    
Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr Denbighshire    
Llangollen Abad Llangollen Denbighshire    
Llangollen Fawr Llangollen Denbighshire    
Llangollen Fechan Llangollen Denbighshire    
Lloran Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog Denbighshire    
Llowarch Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog Denbighshire    
Llysan Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr Denbighshire    
Llys Dinmael Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr Denbighshire    
Maesegwig Betws yn Rhos Denbighshire    
Maes yr Odyn Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr Denbighshire    
Meifod St George Denbighshire    
Myfoniog Llannefydd Denbighshire    
Nant Abergele Denbighshire    
Nantclwyd Llanelidan Denbighshire    
Nantmor Beddgelert Merionethshire    
Nantygwryd Llangollen Denbighshire    
Pant y Rid Llandyfodog Glamorgan    
Pencarreg Pencarreg Carmarthenshire    
Penfron Chill Llannefydd Denbighshire    
Pengwern Llangollen Denbighshire    
Peniarth Betws yn Rhos Denbighshire    
Penporchell Llannefydd Denbighshire    
Pentre Isaf Llannefydd Denbighshire    
Penyfed Llangwm Denbighshire    
Pen y Gribin Bach Llannefydd Denbighshire    
Prysllygoed Llanfair Talhaearn Denbighshire    
Pwllheli Denio Caernarfonshire    
Rectorial Aberporth Cardiganshire    
Redwick Magor Monmouthshire    
Rhisgog Llangollen Denbighshire    
Rhydgwern Machen Glamorgan    
St Clears St Clears Carmarthenshire    
St George St George Denbighshire    
Sychnant Llannefydd Denbighshire    
Tai Bettws Yn Rhos Denbighshire    
Talhaearn Llanfair Talhaearn Denbighshire    
Talybidwal Bryneglwys Denbighshire    
Talybryn Llanefydd Denbighshire    
Tredynog (Tredunnock) Tredynog Monmouthshire    
Tre Llan Cilcain Flintshire    
Trellyniau Cilcen Flintshire    
Tre'r Llan Betws yn Rhos Denbighshire    
Trewyn Bodlowydd Llanelidan Denbighshire    
Trofarth Betws yn Rhos Denbighshire    
Twynnan (or Dolwen) Llanelian yn Rhos Denbighshire    
Tybrith Uchaf Llanrwst Denbighshire    
Ty Newydd Llannefydd Denbighshire    
Uchaf yn dre Llanbadarn Fawr Cardiganshire    
Upper Vaynor Llanbadarn Fawr Cardiganshire    
Vivod (Feifod) Llangollen Denbighshire    
Welsh St Donats Welsh St Donats Glamorgan    
Whitson Whitson Monmouthshire    
Yerbeston Yerbeston Pembrokeshire 118 missing [1]  

The 1871 Census

Place/Township
Parish
County
Population
Census Substitute
Manselfield (Mansel) Nicholaston Glamorgan    
Nicholaston Nicholaston Glamorgan    
Overton Port Eynon Glamorgan    
Oxwich Oxwich Glamorgan    
Paviland Penmaen Glamorgan    
Penmaen Penmaen Glamorgan    
Penrice Penrice Glamorgan    
Pilton Green Penrice Glamorgan    
Port Eynon Port Eynon Glamorgan    
Reynoldston Reynoldston Glamorgan    

The 1881 Census

Place/Township
Parish
County
Population
Census Substitute
         

The 1891 Census

Place/Township
Parish
County
Population
Census Substitute
Merthyr Tydfil

(part of the top of Dowlais is missing, about 9/10 of the enumeration district)

Dowlais Glamorgan   Register of Electors

The 1901 Census

Place/Township
Parish
County
Population
Census Substitute
         


  1. Ted Hackett, "The Incomplete Census," Dyfed Family History Journal 10 (December 2008): 33-36.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 March 2014, at 23:21.
  • This page has been accessed 6,562 times.