Winona County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Winona County

Guide to Winona County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Winona County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Winona County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 4, 1854
County Seat Winona
Courthouse
Winona County Court House, MN.jpg
Address Winona County Courthouse
171 W 3rd Street
Winona, MN 55987
Phone: 507-457-6340
Winona County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1870
probate records from 1871 and school records 1909-1939. [1]

History

Parent County

  • 1854--Winona County was created 4 April 1854 from Fillmore and Wabasha Counties.  County seat: Winona [2]
  • For a brief history of how Winona County was named click here.  Then select Winona County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

History Books

"The History of Wabasha County"  Online history book of early Wabasha and Winona Counties published in 1884.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Altura | Dakota | Elba | Goodwin | La Crescent | Lewiston | Minneiska | Minnesota City | Rollingstone | St. Charles | Stockton | Utica | Winona

Townships

Dresbach | Elba | Fremont | Hart | Hillsdale | Homer | Mt. Vernon | New Hartford | Norton | Pleasant Hill | Richmond | Rollingstone | Saratoga | St. Charles | Utica | Warren | Whitewater | Wilson | Wiscoy

Unincorporated Communities

Ashton | Enterprise | Grover | Homer | Whitewater Falls

Wikipedia for Winona County

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Censuses

  • 1850

United States Census 1850  Searchable FamilySearch Wiki leads to name index and images available for free.

  • 1860

United States Census 1860 Searchable FamilySearch Wiki leads to name index available for free.

  • 1870

United States Census 1870  Searchable FamilySearch Wiki leads to name index available for free.

  • 1880

United States Census 1880    Searchable FamilySearch Wiki leads to name index available for free.

  • 1900

United States Census 1900]     Searchable FamilySearch Wiki leads to name index available for free.

  • 1910

United States Census 1910  Searchable FamilySearch Wiki leads to name index available for free.

  • 1920

United States Census 1920  Searchable FamilySearch Wiki leads to name index available for free.

  • 1930

United States Census 1930  Searchable FamilySearch Wiki leads to name index available for free.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.

Lutheran
  • Records of the Central Lutheran Church, Winona, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Winona – LAND AND PROPERTY

Maiden Rock Winona MN.jpg

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Winona County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnwinona.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Winona County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Winona County.

- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company A.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies G, I and L.
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company K.
- 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies B and D.
- 9th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company K
- Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company A.
- Hatch's Independent Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company B.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Winona County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Winona County, Minnesota page 370, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:32.
  • This page has been accessed 9,042 times.