Wyoming GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States Wyoming
Guide to Wyoming ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records
Welcome to Wyoming,
the Equality State
- Earliest residents of what became Wyoming in 1890 are in the 1850 censuses of Nebraska, Utah, and Washington.
- Many early Wyoming settlers obtained land by homesteading, or purchased land from the railroads.
- Many county records have been moved to the State Archives.
|How to Find Information about Wyoming Ancestors|
Featured ContentRead more...
- Rotating Formation Wyoming County Boundary Maps and Atlases
- David Rumsey Map Collection is a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures.
- The Wyoming GenWeb Project includes counties, public libraries, queries, mailing list, WY timeline, census info, WY family group records, maps, tombstone images, and obituaries.
- Wyoming Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wyoming Biography Database 7,317 entry index to biographical profiles of individuals from Wyoming.
- Wyoming Newspaper Project: This is a work in progress, there are over 721,138 full page newspaper images loaded.
- Wyoming Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- List of Wyoming Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- Family Tree Encyclopedia - Terminology & Meanings of Genealogical Terms
- Printable Genealogy Forms used in Research
- Wyoming Blacksheep Ancestors includes 1930 WY census of prisoners and insane, WY executions 1884-1965, and WY lynchings 1874-1918.
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- Wyoming Marriages 1877-1920 (FamilySearch Historical Records) 14,070 entries.
Did You Know?
When the United States acquired Wyoming, most of the land that comprises the present state became part of the public domain. The federal government surveyed available land and began transferring much of it to private ownership through local land offices in a process called "land entry." The first land office was established at Cheyenne in 1870. Read more...
Obtain additional help
- Call or chat with an experienced researcher
- Join a Facebook Group
- Consult a Professional Genealogist
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here
- ↑ William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 387. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th. 1850 census shows residents in present-day Wyoming then in Nebraska Territory (Unattached), Utah Territory (Green River County), and Washington Territory (Unattached), and in the 1856 Utah census of Green River County.
- ↑ The Dept. of the Interior BLM-GLO Land Patent Search only shows homesteads that were completed. If you can identify the location of incomplete homestead applications you can still obtain the application papers. The Union Pacific Railroad was the most likely one to sell land to settlers.
- ↑ "Vital Records in Wyoming" in Wyoming State Archives at http://wyoarchives.state.wy.us/Research/Topics/index.asp?ID=18&homeID=2 (accessed 14 February 2012).
- This page was last modified on 11 July 2015, at 20:35.
- This page has been accessed 110,136 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News