Wyoming CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  U.S. Census  go to  Wyoming  go to  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Label it to Identify where you found it. 
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Wyoming indexes and images

1910-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Wyoming 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - - - - - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1850-1880

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Wyoming 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1860[8] indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - NE
Link

UT
Link
- - NE
Link
  UT
Link
NE
Link

UT
Link
NE
Link

UT
Link
NE
Link

UT
Link
- Link
partial 1850[9] indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images UT
Link
UT
Link
- - - UT
Link
UT
Link
UT
Link
- Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910  1870                
1930 1900 and Soundex 1860 Uinta Co. with Green River, Utah  
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex 1860 Eastern Wyoming with Nebraska  
  1850 Uinta Co. with Green River, Utah  


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624 1870 M593        
1930 T626 1900 T623 and Soundex T1080
1920 T625 and Soundex M1596 1880 T9 Soundex T746
     

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Wyoming, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Wyoming

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1890 Veterans Link - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality Link - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality Link - Link Link Link
1860 Mortality Link - Link Link Link
1850 Mortality Link - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Wyoming, click here.

State, territorial, and colonial censuses

Wyomong took several censuses in the years between the federal censuses. The dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

Wyoming state, territorial, and colonial censuses[10][11]
1925 State Census. Statistical only.[11][12]
1915 State Census. Statistical only.[11][12]
1905 State census. Statistical only. [10][12]
1878 City of Cheyenne only.[10][12]
1875 City of Cheyenne only.[10][12]
1869 Territory census[13][12]
1856 Utah territorial census included Green River (Fort Bridger), Wyoming[14]
1850 (i.e. 1851) Used as the 1850 federal census for Utah, it includes Green River Precinct (Fort Bridger), Wyoming[15]

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Wyoming censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. In 1860 the people living in what is now Wyoming were enumerated on either the Fort Laramie, Nebraska Territory census, or on the Fort Bridger census of Green River County in Utah Territory.
  9. In 1850 [that is, 1851] the people living near what is now Fort Bridger, Wyoming were enumerated in the Green River Precinct (at the end of Weber County starting on page 160) in the Utah Territory census. People living near what is now Fort Laramie, Wyoming were in unorganized territory and apparently were not enumerated.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 116.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 Henry J. Dubester, State Censuses: An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States (Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1948)[FHL Book 973 X23s; Fiche 6018062], 65-66, 73.
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 12.3 12.4 12.5 Wyoming State Archives Search Micrographics Database Department - select all agencies; Division - select all divisions; Description: type the word census
  13. Wyoming. State Archives and Historical Department Wyoming Territory 1869 Census (Cheyenne, Wyoming : Wyoming State Archives and Historical Department [19--?])[FHL Film 2261365]
  14. 1856 Utah Census Returns(Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1981)[FHL Film 505913]
  15. William Bowen (transcribed by) and United States Census Office. 7th census, 1850 1851 Census of Utah(1972)[FHL book 979.2 X2b 1851 or FHL film 924039 item 3]

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 April 2013, at 02:31.
  • This page has been accessed 12,802 times.