Two new updates have been made to the merge records process. These changes include:
- Switching Positions of an Individual when Merging Records
- Sources Are Automatically Saved When Merging a Record
Switching Positions of an Individual When Merging Records
Sometimes when you do a merge, you select the information you want to keep, but when you click Continue Merge, you see a message that the record on the right cannot be deleted.
You can now switch the positions of the records if you need to. This lets you move the record that needs to be kept to the left side of the screen.
To move a record from the right side to the left side, click Switch Positions as shown below.
Sources Are Automatically Saved When Merging a Record
When you merge two records, you select the information you want to keep. When the merge is done, the information on the left side of the screen is kept, and the information that remains on the right side is deleted. Sometimes sources were being unintentionally deleted because they were on the right side of the screen.
Now when records are compared, the sources are automatically moved to the left side of the screen where they will be saved. If you don’t want to keep the sources, you can click the Undo icon.
In the example below, the sources were automatically moved from Helena August Schultz on the right side to Auguste Helene Schulz. If the two records are merged, the sources will be kept.