Lancashire Ancient ParishesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from "Lancashire Ancient Parishes")

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Below is the list of the approximately 76 ancient parishes (with links) that comprise Lancashire. Each parish link contains a treasure of information-including information about the creation of and parish/chapel history, about census records, civil registration of births, marriages and deaths, and numerous church record links to on-line data from baptism, marriage and burial (and etc.) registers.

The county's 76 parishes, unlike most other England counties, possessed just over 400 chapelries. These smaller chapels (chapelries) subdivided each parish to which they were attached with Manchester possessing by far the greatest number of chapels within its boundary (with approximately 150, by 1885!), and making it England's largest parish.

Click the link (below) to find out which chapelries were attached to each ancient parish and then be certain to search for your ancestor in not only the parish registers but inall of those chapelries (their registers as well) which are attached to each ancient parish.

You can click a "Comprehensive List of Chapelries" link in each Parish page to view and printout a list of chapelries attached to the parish.

Key Strategies:

  1. Where available, always search indexes first.
  2. For the sake of thoroughness in research, always search registers of the ancient parish then accurately identify and search the registers of each of its attached chapelries within its boundary.

These are "must-do" steps, in order to locate and prove Lancashire ancestral connections in especially the pre-Civil Registration period (pre-1837).

Aldingham Altcar Ashton in Makerfield St Thomas (became a parish in 1845)
Ashton under Lyne St Michael Aughton Bispham
Blackburn St Mary Bolton le Moors St Peter Bolton le Sands
Brindle Bury St Mary Cartmel
Childwall Chorley St Laurence Claughton St Chad
Cockerham  Colton Croft with Southworth
Croston Dalton in Furness Deane
Eccles Eccleston St Mary (near Croston) Flixton
Garstang Golborne Halsall
Halton Hawkshead Hesketh with Becconsall
Heysham Hoole Huyton
Kirkby Ireleth Kirkham Lancaster St Mary
Leigh Leyland Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas
Lytham Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys Melling
Middleton Mitton St Michael Newchurch
North Meols Ormskirk Pennington
Penwortham Poulton le Fylde Prescot
Preston St John Prestwich St Mary Radcliffe St Mary
Ribchester Rochdale St Chad Rufford
Sefton St Michael on Wyre Standish
Tarleton Tatham Thornton in Lonsdale
Tunstal Ulverston St Mary Urswick
Walton on the Hill St Mary Warrington St Elphin Warton (near Lancaster)
Whalley Whittington Wigan All Saints
Winwick

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 February 2013, at 21:25.
  • This page has been accessed 3,972 times.