Aarwangen parish, Bern, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngBern Gotoarrow.png Aarwangen parish

Guide to Aarwangen parish, Bern, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Aarwangen

Gemeinden or Municipalities
Aarwangen
Bannwil
Schwarzhäusern

Surrounding Parishes

Collections

Church Records

There is an article describing the challenges of using the online collection and a general description of the records. i.e. Taufen, Heiraten, Toten, Auswärtige, and Ausbürger. Thunstetten registers are available on microfilm, CD, or online. The German Word List has many of the words you will find in the registers.

Baptisms
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K1 Taufrodel 1 1571-1620 1571-1613 here
1613-1620 here
2005263 #4
K1 Taufrodel 1 Bannwil 1571-1620 here 2005263 #4
K2 Taufrodel 2 1627-1666 1627-1662 here,
1662-1666 here
2005263 #5,
2005264 #1
K3 Taufrodel 3 1666-1729 here 2005264 #2
K4 Taufrodel 4 1729-1751 here 2005264 #3
K4 Taufrodel 4 auswärts Getaufte 1699-1751 here 2005264 #3
K5 Taufrodel 5 1752-1798 here here 2005264 #4
K6 Taufrodel 6 1799-1822 here here 2005265 #1
K6 Taufrodel 6 auswärts Getaufte 1769-1867 here here 2005265 #1
K7 Taufrodel 7 1823-1840 here here 2005265 #2
K8 Taufrodel 8 1840-1855 here here 2005265 #3
K9 Taufrodel 9 1855-1871 here here 2005266 #1
K10 Taufrodel 10 1871-1876 here here 2005266 #2
K11 Taufrodel auswärts Getaufte 1 1812-1875 here here 2005266 #3
Marriages
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K1 Eherodel 1 1571-1620 here 2005263 #4
K1 Eherodel 1 Bannwil 1571-1619 here 2005263 #4
K2 Eherodel 2 1627-1683 here 2005264 #1
K3 Eherodel 3 1683-1751 here 2005264 #2
K12 Verkünd- und Eherodel 1751-1870 here here 2005266 #4
K13 Verkünd- und Eherodel 1871-1875 here here 2005267 #1
Burials
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K1 Totenrodel 1 1571-1575 here 2005263 #4
K14 Totenrodel 2 1752-1855 here here 2005267 #2
K14 Totenrodel 2 Ausburger Verstorbene 1752-1761 here 2005267 #2
K15 Totenrodel 3 1856-1875 here here 2005267 #3
Miscellaneous
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K1 Chronik 1591-1610 here 2005263 #4
K3 Chronik 1576-1577 here 2005254 #2

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Aarwangen families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Aarwangen prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Bern

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 02:00.
  • This page has been accessed 666 times.