Abernant, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Aber-nant, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngAbernant

A guide to genealogy in Abernant, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Abernant is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

ABERNANT (ABER-NANT), a parish, in the union of CARMARTHEN, higher division of the hundred of ELVET ... 5 miles (W.N.W.) from Carmarthen. The village, which is pleasantly situated on the banks of the river Cowin, about two miles westward of the road leading from Carmarthen to Newcastle and Cardigan, was formerly much frequented at the time of the Carmarthen races, which for many years took place within this parish. The church, dedicated to St Lucia, is a small neat building, pleasantly situated in a small neat building, in a quiet and retired spot. There are two places of worship for Independents, and one for Baptists, with a Sunday school held in each. [1]

For more information on Abernant see:

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464310.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 881 times.