Aberdeenshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
The surface of the county, towards the sea, is tolerably level, but the greater portion forms part of the central highlands and consists of high mountains interspersed with a few valleys. About one-third of the land is under cultivation. There are quarries for granite, freestone, and limestone. The coast is bold and rocky with some level beach, and there are several bays.
(Source: Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 2nd ed. 1851; Family History Library book 941 E5L.)
Archives and Libraries
The Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire Archives has recently put the catalogue to their collection on the Internet at Their collection of genealogical value includes:
- Records of the poor relating to Aberdeenshire, Morayshire, Banffshire and Kincardineshire
- School records for Aberdeenshire, Morayshire, Banffshire, Kincardineshire and Aberdeen City
- Burial records for some City cemeteries, as well as some in Aberdeenshire
- Records for several burghs in Aberdeen and Moray shires.
- Congregational, Episcopal and Methodist Church Records for a number of congregations in Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire
- Tax lists from as early as the 15th century
- Valuation Rolls and Registers of Electors
Some burial records in their collection have been digitized and are searchable online at http://www.deceasedonline.com/.
The Aberdeen City Library has a local studies collection that includes published:
- Parish and local histories
- Biographies and family history
- Education, literature and architecture sources
- Local authority minutes and development plans
- Electoral and valuation rolls
- Newspapers and Periodicals
The Scottish government began taking censuses of its population in 1841, and every ten years there after. The records must be 100 years old before they are released to the public, so the most recent record available is for the 1911 census. Read more about Census Records.
Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Aberdeenshire for 1881. Click here for other census indexes available at the library.
Click on the map at the right to see a larger version, and click again on the larger map. Next, click on the ‘Expand’ button when it appears in the lower right-hand corner of the map.
Here is a list of the historic parishes in the county of Aberdeen. Click on the parish name to see information about records. See below for a map of the Aberdeenshire parishes.
|Aboyne||170||Kinkell--see Keithall and Kinkell||206|
|Auchindoir and Kearn||172||Kinnethmont||212|
|Braemar--see Crathie and Braemar||183||Logie Buchan||216|
|Chapel of Garioch||179||Lonmay||219|
|Crathie and Braemar||183||Monquhitter||223|
|Cushnie--see Leochel-Cushnie||214||New Machar||227|
|Foveran||195||Rhynie (with Essie)||237b|
|Glengairn--see Glenmuick||201||Tarland & Migvy||242|
|Internochtie--see Strathdon||240||Tullich--see Glenmuick||201|
|Inverurie||204||Tullynessle & Forbes||246|
|Keithall and Kinkell||206||Udny||249|
There are three poorhouses:
Buchan Combination (Maud) www.workhouses.org.uk/Buchan/
Old Machar (Aberdeen) www.workhouses.org.uk/Aberdeen/
[Return to the Scotland counties list.]
The Aberdeen & North-East Scotland Family History Society exists to assist and promote the study of genealogy and family history based on the North-East corner of Scotland. This area covers the old counties of Aberdeenshire, Banffshire, Kincardineshire and Morayshire.
- Aberdeenshire Resources and help pages on RootsChat Aberdeenshire Resources and help pages. (Free).
- This page was last modified on 23 June 2015, at 19:24.
- This page has been accessed 1,548 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News