Abergwili, CarmarthenshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngAbergwili

A guide to genealogy in Abergwili, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Abergwili is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

ABERGUILLY (ABER-GWILI), a parish, in the union of CARMARTHEN, higher division of the hundred of ELVET ... 2 miles (E. by N.) from Carmarthen, on the road to Llandilo-Vawr. The village is pleasantly situated, and the meadows in the neighbourhood are watered by the rivers Towy and Guilly, over which last is a neat substantial stone bridge of three arches. The parish abounds with roofing slate of excellent quality, of which there are two quarries at present open, affording employment to about fifty persons. The church, dedicated to St Maurice, and situated near the bank of the Towy, was made collegiate by Dr Beck, Bishop of St David's, in 1287. The church is a neat plain building, consisting of two aisles, without either tower or steeple. At Llanvihangel-uwch-Guilly is a chapel, formerly a chapel of ease. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Methodists.[1]

For more information on Abergwili see:

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464310.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales(1849), pp. 12-25. Adapted. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2014, at 21:09.
  • This page has been accessed 336 times.